06
Jan
11

Living in the Past

Last weekend I was looking through my old photos and found some projects I hadn’t added into Ravelry but probably posted on my blog years ago. I wanted to show them to you as I don’t have any current project photos, even though I finished a bib this week, started a bib, and have 5 more rows on my 4th baby blanket (one more in the works to go). Here are my pre-Ravelry FOs:

Actually, never mind. I looked through them again

http://www.ravelry.com/projects/elspeth

and there are no old projects I’m really proud of. I guess that means I’ve advanced in my knitting, or photo taking, or both.

Anywho, I decided today to make a few 2011 goals. I’m not usually very goal-driven and that probably has lead me to be where I am right now, feeling very unstructured and unaccomplished. So let’s see.

1) by the end of the year I would like to lose 13 lbs. Last year I started with Jenny Craig, which I do enjoy, but I only lost 11-12 lbs. I figure I can do the same this year, and I’ll be 30 lbs until my goal weight at that point. I can stand waiting 5 years to lose all the weight – it took me 5-6 years to get to this point anyway.

2) in the next 6 mos I would like to get another job. Preferably part time, but we’ll see. I’ve been feeling very adrift since I got laid off, and really loved having some income and feeling like I was helping the family, even though my DH says anything I make pushes us into the next tax bracket, so it might not be that great money-wise.

3) in the next 3 mos I would like to get our garage cleaned out. My DH decided, 8 years ago, to use our garage as a “staging” area for our stuff before we moved it inside. We moved from a 2 bedroom apartment to a 3 bedroom house, and of course it got filled up with stuff that wasn’t sitting outside in the garage! I feel guilty that he works full time and deals with so much stress and I don’t do my fair share at home, so hopefully I can help out more here.

And as to knitting/crocheting goals, I’ve got even more. Here they are, in order:

1) Finish the bib I’m currently working on.
2) finish baby blanket #4

baby

3) finish baby blanket #5
4) weave in the ends of above
5) finish my black sweater

black

6) finish my red sweater

red

7) untangle the trash bag full of yarn I have sitting around

stash

8) get a handle on my yarn stash again
9) finish my WIPs
10) work on my Ravelry queue, and last, but not least …
11) by 12/31/11 I hope to have only a half of the stash I have today. We shall see.

Any suggestions? Any goals of your own?

3 Responses to “Living in the Past”


  1. January 8, 2011 at 12:03 am

    Live through another year? A lofty goal, I know, but about all I can really aspire to. Hopefully the business will be in as good or better shape but we’ll see.

    That said, I’d really like to get the number of WIP’s, UFO’s and my stash a little more in hand.

  2. January 8, 2011 at 11:17 pm

    Your goals sound doable! 🙂

    Hmm. Maybe you can focus on just working a very few hours doing a job (or volunteering) at something you really love??

  3. January 29, 2011 at 11:54 pm

    good luck with accomplishing your goals for this year..even more luck with getting that garage cleaned!!


Leave a Reply

Elspeth

is a knitter, librarian and pop culture enthusiast in the San Francisco Peninsula. Email me at emmckee@rocketmail

Tweets, if I bother

January 2011
M T W T F S S
« Dec   May »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

