14
Nov
10

Hip to be Square

Wow, I really apologize for how long it’s taken me to get back here! First I was inundated with work, then we decided last month to limit/block the computer from the kids so I haven’t been on the computer very often, and just last week I got laid off from my job (they are automating it!) so I’ve got time to stop by!

I also brought out an old project about a week ago. I started a granny square blanket awhile ago then put it aside, the baby was born, and it was still in my yarn closet. My friend is very close to having a female baby, and this was halfway done in pink and red, so I brought it out and finished it for her baby shower last week!

This started my current obsession with granny squares! As of today I am the proud owner of “101 Granny Squares”, “99 Granny Squares” and “200 Crochet Blocks” and I’ve finished 16 different squares! They are really fun, and a great stash buster, as I am still desperately trying to use up my stash!

I am currently crocheting as many squares as I can stand for three different square-requesting groups on Ravelry:

Afghans for Pine Ridge
(Ravelry)
(Yahoo Group)

Are looking for any size squares to make into blankets for South Dakotan Native Americans. I’ve made these so far:

squares

Share a Square 2010
(Ravelry)
(Blog post)

Shelly is collecting squares for children with cancer. I’ve made a few already, including:

squares

and also,

Granny Squares for NICU
(Ravelry)

Sherry is collecting squares for blankets for NICU patients and their parents.

I’ve really enjoyed making these tiny squares. Here are a few:

squares

I am addicted, and hope to post more soon!

2 Responses to “Hip to be Square”


  1. November 19, 2010 at 3:15 pm

    Sorry about your job. 😦

  2. December 2, 2010 at 10:44 pm

    Bummer about the job, does that mean the job hunting must start again?

    Nice use of your time though! I’ve got this thing for Granny Squares. Someday I’ll learn to make them and knit up this very cute cardi I’ve got the pattern for.


Leave a Reply

Elspeth

is a knitter, librarian and pop culture enthusiast in the San Francisco Peninsula. Email me at emmckee@rocketmail

Tweets, if I bother

November 2010
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Dec »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

