24
Aug
10

Deja Vu

You are never going to believe this – I am knitting ANOTHER sweater! I brought my Sisik shrug with me (and just found another piece of a previous sweater/skein to frog to add to this one!) to San Diego, but when we went to Legoland I knew I couldn’t carry it around as it was too large (and hot), so I brought another sweater I started awhile ago. Yes, I am a rock star, and I knit all over Legoland and the San Diego Zoo. Someone even mentioned it to their friend as I walked by at the zoo (“Hey, she’s knitting and walking …”)

I was CONVINCED that this sock yarn I bought from Etsy was exactly like the gorgeous skein that Chris dyed for me, and started a sweater with it, assuming I’d marry the two along the way. Well, I barely got started when I realized the Etsy yarn had very little black, and quite a bit of red and brown, and Chris’ yarn was mostly just red and black, and also a lighter gauge. Damn it! Then I ripped back 12 rows because I bought 10 MORE skeins of black yarn that I thought I would use for striping, but it ended up being too light as well. So, I have decided to keep knitting until I run out of yarn, then start a lace edging on the sleeves and bottom that I hope will look good enough to finish it off. I’ve been knitting up a storm, and am getting near the end of the ball.

yarn

I hope to finish a sweater, any sweater this year. I have been so distracted by work (my job is going pretty well, but it is becoming more at-home and less in-house than I would like, the kids (school starts in 2 weeks!), and just general malaise that it’s been hard for me to buckle down and get anything done. I hope to have a finished sweater to report within the next month!

4 Responses to “Deja Vu”


  1. September 2, 2010 at 11:47 pm

    Another sweater? Already? Sweet! It looks pretty good, the lace idea is a good one.

    I can barely knit myself. I’ve mostly been working or reading trash novels/watching trash TV. In desperation, I’ve even started watching the soaps again. Argh.

  2. September 6, 2010 at 7:27 pm

    another sweater?? teehee. glad to hear things are going well at work. 🙂

  3. September 26, 2010 at 12:48 am

    I haven’t been around — or knitting all that much — either. But I notice that your sweater is almost the exact same colors as my Clapotis! Love it.

  4. November 5, 2010 at 6:05 pm

    Thanks for the sweet comment!! I’ll pray for your friend’s fmaily. How is the sweater coming along? I’m a bootie making machine lately.


Leave a Reply

Elspeth

is a knitter, librarian and pop culture enthusiast in the San Francisco Peninsula. Email me at emmckee@rocketmail

Tweets, if I bother

August 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Nov »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

