15
Aug
10

On the Road Again

So I’m desperate to say *something*, anything before I go on vacation! I’m heading down to Legoland, near San Diego, tomorrow and I can’t wait! I already had one “vacation” this year when we went to Las Vegas to celebrate my grandfather’s 98th birthday, but this one should be even more fun (save for the 9 hour drive!).

As you might have guessed, I agonized over what knitting to bring with me. I’m currently working on so many raglans (I still have way too much yarn, and have been really good, but did buy maybe 15 balls in the past month so I’m nowhere near using it up) that I always have a sweater to work on, but which one? A while back I started Stefanie Japel’s Cropped Cardigan with Leaf Ties, which I’m enjoying, but I’m making it in Knitting Fever’s Angora Extra and it sheds! I don’t have allergies, but this yarn gets up my nose every time. Not good for a small space, I assumed, so I’ll have to put it aside.

red

I also started a pullover (since I was bored with cardigans!) in some of my sock yarn. It is so scratchy, though, and I’ve got 7 balls of it! I’m not sure how long this project is going to last. I’ve now got 2 easy places to donate yarn, so this might be being sent off really soon.

black white

So the most applicable project to bring is what I’ve currently got packed. I made 2 ChicKamis recently, one in my Dale of Norway Sisik. Since it’s a tank and I had more yarn left over, I decided to create a shrug to match. I have since bought 1 more ball (1 of my new 15) of the yarn so I can make it a bit bigger, but we’ll see if I need to stretch the yarn out by adding some plain black. I’ve got tons of that. It is my standard winging it raglan cardigan pattern, and very boring. But I’m using up some yarn!

black

I’ll keep you posted on how far I get when I get back! Have a great week!

3 Responses to “On the Road Again”


  1. August 15, 2010 at 6:09 pm

    Oh, have fun at LEGOLand! Sounds very cool.

  2. August 15, 2010 at 9:01 pm

    Great projects – have a fun vacation!

  3. August 19, 2010 at 2:05 am

    so jealous about legoland!! hope you share pics next time. i hate when the yarn goes up my nose–that has happened to me before but i can’t remember what was in it. hope you had a blast on your vacation!


Leave a Reply

Elspeth

is a knitter, librarian and pop culture enthusiast in the San Francisco Peninsula. Email me at emmckee@rocketmail

Tweets, if I bother

August 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Nov »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

