12
Jun
10

The Library Song

I’m a bit late, but I really wanted to do this week’s Ten on Tuesday! (More to come about my lack of time – I GOT A JOB!) This week, Carole suggested “10 Favorite Children’s Books”. As I’ve taken Children’s Librarianship in grad school, lived with a teacher in college, worked as a Children’s Librarian and have kids, this one is right up my alley!

My 10 Favorite Children’s Books:

1. The Monster At the End of this Book – Jon Stone and Michael Smolin
This book scared and delighted me as a kid and my kids. Love Grover and his attempts at us not turning every page of the book!

2. Hand, Hand, Fingers, Thumb – Al Perkins and Eric Gurney
I love the ’60s trippiness of this very rhythmic book, and of course the banjos!

3. Boergel – Daniel Pinkwater
Daniel Pinkwater is my #2 favorite author. His books are so interesting, funny, and irreverent.

4. Alan Mendelsohn, Boy From Mars – Daniel Pinkwater
Another Daniel Pinkwater masterpiece.

5. Charlie and the Chocolate Factory – Roald Dahl
Roald Dahl is my favorite author ever.

6. Oddballs – William Sleator
One of his books scared me to death as a kid, but this one is pure fun. It’s stories about his family and my son and I quote from it all the time!

7. The Very Hungry Caterpillar – Eric Carle
It’s a cute book about a caterpillar eating and turning into a butterfly that my kids all have loved a huge amount.

8. Owen – Kevin Henkes
My son’s name is Owen and we just love this mouse!

9. Helga’s Dowry – Tomie de Paola
I really love this book mostly for Helga’s cool platform shoes!

10. But Not the Hippopotamus; Moo, Baa, La La La; Pajama Time!; Barnyard Dance – Sandra Boynton
For 6 years we had every Boynton book that came out, and I raised my kids on them. I hope to be able to share these cute little board books with grandchildren someday!

5 Responses to “The Library Song”


  1. June 13, 2010 at 1:59 am

    I have tremendous respect for children’s librarians. I just couldn’t do it if I tried.

  2. June 13, 2010 at 6:56 pm

    I’m going to have to save this list. 🙂

    Congrats on the job!!

  3. June 15, 2010 at 7:17 pm

    some teacher am I–a lot of the books on your list i’m not familiar with! i’m definitely going to look into those daniel pinkwater books! the only one i knew of was the big orange splot!

  4. June 18, 2010 at 2:08 am

    Congratulations!!

    I’ve only read (or heard of) one of those books. Clearly childless.

  5. February 16, 2011 at 4:24 pm

    I love ALL Tomie de Paola!(stopped by from Ravelry)


Leave a Reply

Elspeth

is a knitter, librarian and pop culture enthusiast in the San Francisco Peninsula. Email me at emmckee@rocketmail

Tweets, if I bother

June 2010
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

