02
Mar
10

Broken

Sooooo .. awhile ago I started another sweater from the Knitter’s Handy Book of Sweater Patterns. They’re all bottom up: knit the bottom, knit the sleeves, then attach the sleeves and knit the top. It worked out great for this sweater (my first sweater FO for 2010):

sweater

That was my first foray into a yoke based sweater. I enjoyed it, and it fits pretty well, so I’d like to make another. I started another one right away (I’m great with stash busting again this year!), this time a raglan, bottom up cardigan. I finished the bottom (but have since lost it πŸ˜‰ ), and actually finished 1 sleeve, but then I decided I don’t like how this stripe pattern is going, and also forgot to do the increases on the second sleeve. So I went from this:

sleeve

to nothing! I have since restarted the second sleeve at the elbow (attempting to make my favorite 3/4 length sleeves), past the increases. So far so good, but now I need to find my bottom and rest of the yarn so I can continue!

And because I need to have many projects going on at one time, I started a scarf yesterday when I ran out of yarn for this next sleeve. I did some shopping last week (and I had been so good at yarn dieting!) and bought 4 balls of Lily Chin Gotham in purple for my son’s teacher’s gift. So far, so good:

gotham

Chevron Scarf” from July 13, 2009’s Knitting Pattern a Day calendar:

scarf

Hope you’re enjoying the purple and black, Chris!

3 Responses to “Broken”


  1. March 2, 2010 at 6:58 pm

    I am! Thanks! πŸ˜‰

  2. March 2, 2010 at 8:50 pm

    Wait, what happened with the internship???

    How annoying of your mother! It must be…….her bones contracting. πŸ™‚ The sweaters are really cute though.

    Collar pick ups are a PITA. I’ve read that it’s a 2 to 1 ratio on the stitches……and every few stitches you fudge and pick up an extra one or two.

  3. March 22, 2010 at 2:30 am

    the red and black cardi looks great!


Leave a Reply

Elspeth

is a knitter, librarian and pop culture enthusiast in the San Francisco Peninsula. Email me at emmckee@rocketmail

Tweets, if I bother

March 2010
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

