01
Jan
10

Let’s Start the New Year Right

I was inspired by Jody/Savannachik’s New Year’s post to post my own goals for the New Year.

1. Keep paring my stash down in 2010. I have somewhere around 710 balls of yarn (I’m not convinced I have it all on Ravelry, but it’s pretty close), and by knitting 12+ sweaters last year I did make quite a dent, but over 700 balls is WAY too much. I do hope to move sometime in my lifetime and do not want to carry 700+ balls of yarn with me!

2. Keep reading somewhere near as much as I did in 2009. I really got back into reading lately and want to stay involved. Trust me, I’m still watching WAY too much television, but I like to throw a book in there every so often.

3. Continue in my weight loss efforts. I joined Jenny Craig in November, and was at a way higher weight then I thought, so at that point I needed to lose 44 lbs. So far I’ve lost approximately 7 lbs. It’s not amazing, but I’m glad I at least started. I need to lose 37 more, and if I lose 3 lbs. a month, it’ll take me a year. I paid for a year, so that works for me. I hope I can keep it going.

4. Get some sort of job/volunteer opportunity. I’ve been working on this project for 3 years. Now I’m definitely at the end of my patience for job hunting. I can’t move locations, and have some schedule issues, but there’s got to be something.

What about you? I hope everyone has a great 2010 and accomplishes all you set your mind to!

2 Responses to “Let’s Start the New Year Right”


  1. January 3, 2010 at 3:58 am

    I don’t do resolutiony type things because it guarantees I won’t accomplish them.

    Go you on the weight loss!

  2. January 3, 2010 at 12:11 pm

    I’m not buying any more yarn, that’s the big thing. The only real resolution. But I also want to knit more sweaters (the thing about socks — you knit and knit and knit and all that’s gone is one puny ball of yarn). Sweaters at least leave a visible dent. And I want to work out more. Not just for weight loss (though I have put on about 6 or so pounds over the holidays) but because I’m in bad shape.
    7 pounds is a lot. You should be proud.


Leave a Reply

Elspeth

is a knitter, librarian and pop culture enthusiast in the San Francisco Peninsula. Email me at emmckee@rocketmail

Tweets, if I bother

January 2010
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

