26
Nov
09

Anticipation

Happy Thanksgiving! I’m just waiting until it’s time to take the looooong trek up the hill (~2 miles) to my MIL’s house!

Today I’m thankful for inspiration!

In late August I started a sweater in an attempt to finish NaKniSweMoDo (this is sweater #11!) and to destash. I started with a mystery yarn that I will swear to my grave was labeled Cascade 220, but it is definitely cotton. Anywho, I got as far as I could before I ran out of yarn, and decided to finish up with black cotton yarn that I have in abundance. I worked on it slowly and was really daunted by the ribbed sleeves.

Then on Tuesday I got together with Jocelyn and Marina, and decided to just finish the sleeves. I don’t know what possessed me to try it on, but I did, and I decided I hated the sleeve I was working on. I decided to rip it back and just make short sleeves. At that point I had one done, and the second was only 18 more rows and I was done with it later on Tuesday. I was SO happy to be done!

Later on Tuesday I was sewing in the last of the ends and telling Beth and Elizabeth that I was done – when I realized that I *wasn’t done*!!! I had totally forgotten that I had planned on creating a ribbed edging so there wasn’t an edge to the stockinette. Damn! I so didn’t want to do any more knitting on that project!

Wednesday morning I decided to go to Jo-Ann to buy some clasps or frog closures, and I had a brainstorm – *zippers*! So, after watching Glee last night I had a finished sweater! I’m so excited, and accomplished to be almost done with NaKniSweMoDo!

pink

Happy Thanksgiving!

3 Responses to “Anticipation”


  1. November 27, 2009 at 12:18 am

    It’s a fun sweater! Hope you survived that trek. 😉

  2. November 27, 2009 at 7:01 pm

    yahoooooooooooooooo for the finished sweater!!! what a great idea to put in a zipper! wow a 2 mile trek, huh? lol.

  3. November 28, 2009 at 8:15 pm

    Happy Thanksgiving! You’re doing great with your knitting. I need to kick my butt in gear too, now that you mention it. The holidays are almost upon us… eeep!


Leave a Reply

Elspeth

is a knitter, librarian and pop culture enthusiast in the San Francisco Peninsula. Email me at emmckee@rocketmail

Tweets, if I bother

November 2009
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

