26
Aug
09

Help.

I was doing so well with my WIP finishing goals along with completing NaKniSweMoDo, but then this weekend came up and I went a little crazy.

We were invited to a pool party where “presents aren’t required” and we had 3 weeks notice at least, so I decided I’d knit something for the birthday girl. Fast forward to the day before the party, when I realize I hadn’t actually started anything for her, but I had started two other sweaters for myself! So I went from a small number of official WIPs (and as I was required to go through my stash I found a few more, many of which I did or am frogging) to a much larger number! Here goes:

Sweater 9 of NaKniSweMoDo: still at the sleeves. It is so boring, I can only bring myself to knit on it at my knit night, and I’m skipping it tonight ;(

black

Sweater 10 of NaKniSweMoDo: need to finish up the hand knitting. It probably is pretty much done, I just have it at my next project, and may not get there.

black 2

Sweater 11 NaKniSweMoDo: need to finish up the machine knitting. That involves finding the pattern and where I was, pulling out my machine, etc. And I’m over 1/2 way done already.

Sweater 12 of NaKniSweMoDo: this is a bottom and some of a sleeve that I started using the Knitter’s Handy Book of Sweater Patterns. It’s been a WIP forever, and I will probably finish it based upon how I finished my previous sweater bottom – just create a raglan top and graft them together. But then I’ll be stuck at the sleeves of yet another pattern.

I frogged two previous scarf/wrap (three, actually, but I only have 2 photos) attempts. One I have started my second Rolled Collar Shrug with, and the other will languish in my stash for awhile longer.

red

And for the party this weekend, I started and then frogged the Ultra Mega Chunky Bag for the birthday girl.

pink

It was too floppy and too small.

Then I started the No Seam Bag which is going okay so far, but I ran out of the one ball of Pastaza yarn I was going to use. I was happy to find out that the Jo-Ann Sensations yarn I bought on sale matches it almost perfectly, so I’ve been knitting away on that. Then comes the felting. I hate felting, so I’m going to beg someone from my knitting group to do it for me, if they will.

And along with these, there are the two other sweaters I’ve recently begun. One is a new asymmetrically opened cardigan with Cascade 220:

fuschia

and the other is a second Juliet, since I’ve worn my first one, and it’s really helping me use up my pink and red oddball stash!

red/pink

4 Responses to “Help.”


  1. August 26, 2009 at 10:05 pm

    Oh my. I think I need a chart to keep up with you! 🙂

  2. August 26, 2009 at 11:33 pm

    That chart would be handy. I love the colors for the Juliet and the asymetrical cardi. That’s Cascade 220? It looks so airy!

  3. August 27, 2009 at 6:38 am

    ooh, another juliet? 🙂 good luck with bag for the birthday girl!

  4. August 27, 2009 at 11:41 pm

    See, I always think about starting a gazillion projects, but I don’t actually do it. I’ll tell you a secret (well, OK, it’s no longer a secret, now that it’s up on the interwebs…): I hate casting on. I love knitting. I love finishing. I love washing and blocking even, but I hate casting on. There, I’ve said it.

    Good luck with the gift! Maybe something small… do they have cats? You could whip up a cat toy. Or a hat? One of those felted bowls?


Leave a Reply

Elspeth

is a knitter, librarian and pop culture enthusiast in the San Francisco Peninsula. Email me at emmckee@rocketmail

Tweets, if I bother

August 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

