04
Aug
09

I Turn My Camera On

So about 3 weeks after my trip to NYC/Maryland, someone finally “found” my camera! Apparently Dylan decided he needed to hide it under his bed, and only brought it out when Oren decided he wanted to make a video with it! So I have a lot to discuss.

First of all, I was very, very busy on my trip. I hand sewed two items, almost 3, and knit one. I also finished a few books.

I created the “pattern” for this, based on the really easy knit shrug patterns:

sewn

I realized later I should have just used a pillowcase. It really feels like it. But I really like the look.

Then I started 2 different boleros with the same pattern. All I have to do is finish the sleeves on this one, and the other is black:

red

Then finally during my trip, I brought only one knit project, and finished it on the trip home:

volare

I like it, and really just created the pattern on the fly, but the sleeves are a bit too wide for their length, and the yarn is acrylic, so I may end up passing this on to a worthy recipient.

Since I got back I started and finished another project. It’s the Rolled Collar Shrug from an old Family Circle Easy Knitting. I started with 5 balls of Tahki Cotton Colori, and knew I had at least 3 more of a pink and red version, but I could only find one ball. I ended up making this:

pink

and THEN I found the rest of the Cotton Colori! Not to mention that I ran out of black, so I ended up substituting double stranded Elann Connemara in black, and it worked out just fine! Both are chain-looking cotton yarns. So I’ve still got 3 balls, I think, of Cotton Colori, 2 in pink and one in red. And the rest of the Connemara.

And finally, I pulled out some WIPs to finish. I am just about done with Lion Brand’s Extremely Easy Sweater. Unfortunately it is made all in one piece, and I made the back way too long. So I compensated with the front, and so it’s shorter. I don’t think it will look bad on, but it is definitely too hot to try. I just need to knit the sleeve edging and sew on 4 buttons, which I don’t have, or can’t find.

grey

I also found this bottom of a sweater and had no idea where I was going with it, but I didn’t want to pull it out. So I started a top, raglan style, and ended up grafting (3 needle bind off) the two together this weekend while getting religion and watching “The Secret Life of the American Teenager” (HORRIBLE acting). Now all I have to do is the sleeves, and I have another sweater.

black

Since it is no longer portable, I started yet another sweater, for no good reason, and just brought out my Baccarat Player. More on that later.

3 Responses to “I Turn My Camera On”


  1. August 5, 2009 at 12:50 am

    Dang! Found your camera and finished a slew of stuff! That bolero and sweater – heck all of it, wow.

  2. August 5, 2009 at 1:48 am

    Yowza. I am not worthy to be in your presence! Wow.

  3. August 13, 2009 at 1:45 am

    you’ve been busy! i like the look of the first sewn shrug and i love the look of that extra easy sweater!


Leave a Reply

Elspeth

is a knitter, librarian and pop culture enthusiast in the San Francisco Peninsula. Email me at emmckee@rocketmail

Tweets, if I bother

August 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

