25
Jun
09

Just like Romeo and Juliet

So I officially finished my Juliet today. That is, I crocheted the button loops and sewed on the buttons. I even wore it, which is a big step for me! It really looks great and was a lot of stash busting, including double stranding most of my burgundy colored yarns. Down 13 skeins of yarn!

juliet

While I was walking the kids to camp, another mom smiled at me. I thought it was because of the kids. Then maybe my tattoos. But maybe, just maybe, she is also a knitter and recognized the Juliet pattern!

I also officially finished my huge Malabrigo sweater a week or so ago. I had planned on trying to felt it down, but it’s my friend “Elaine Lowe“‘s birthday on Friday, so I figured I’d start by giving it to her. She’s 6 feet tall and it was too big for her!!!! Just a bit big, though, and I told her she could felt it a bit down if she wanted. I really loved the toggle (sorry, “clasp” 🙂 ) I bought and sewed on, and I think it looks great! I hope she enjoys wearing it.

toggle

malabrigo

Meanwhile, I’ve been reading up a storm for the Library usage challenge. I’m almost halfway done, and have a HUGE pile of library books on my kitchen table! I borrowed 5 today and I think 5 yesterday, all being impulse purchases!

I’ve also been knitting. I am on the sleeves of my random acrylic shrug/cardigan. One day it was the only yarn I had in the car with me, and I had to cast on!

I also started my shrug/cardigan thing from Knit Picks Shine that I frogged from A Good Bias from IK. D’oh … can you see what’s missing? If this were pants and I was Heather Mills, it would be fine:

shine

But as you might know, I am not a really particular knitter, I prefer to get things done, so I’m just going to increase until I have the right amount of stitches and then move on. Talk about a Franken-sweater (Go Al Franken!) 😉

5 Responses to “Just like Romeo and Juliet”


  1. June 25, 2009 at 4:41 pm

    Wow, you are really cranking on the knitting! Congrats on finishing Juliet. And I see you’re reading Erin McCarthy’s Vegas Vampires series. Those are fun.

    Hey, there’s a series (on my to-read list) about an all-vampire radio station! It’s by Jeri Smith-Ready and the first book is Wicked Game. The second book is Bad to the Bone. And that’s all there is to the series so far.

  2. June 25, 2009 at 9:40 pm

    Juliet looks great and the book goes really well with her. 😉

    The Malabrigo worked out well as a gift! The toggle sets it off perfectly.

  3. June 27, 2009 at 8:25 pm

    Do you sleep?

    Seriously, you’ve been crazy productive, those FOs have been flying off your needles! Can I borrow some of that mojo? I love the bright reds… now, I want to start something red too. It’s contagious!

  4. August 1, 2009 at 1:47 am

    yay for juliet! it’s gorgeous..lots of red fos coming out of you!

  5. March 30, 2013 at 11:20 am

    What’s up everyone, it’s my first pay a visit at this web
    site, and post is genuinely fruitful in favor of me, keep up posting such posts.


Leave a Reply

Elspeth

is a knitter, librarian and pop culture enthusiast in the San Francisco Peninsula. Email me at emmckee@rocketmail

Tweets, if I bother

June 2009
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

