08
Jun
09

Lisa Librarian

I’m finally officially joining the Support Your (Local) Library Challenge (I’m joining with the caveat, if this is necessary, that I am not a huge fan of our city’s libraries, but we are connected to other cities in the county, so I’ll be using the others that aren’t technically our “local” library but are within walking distance!) I went to the library on Friday, and was disappointed to see that their system was down and we could only check out 3 books manually at the desk! I had had 6 but oh well.

So I’m going to read as many library books as I can this year. I use the library and also don’t really like to hold on to books (more room for yarn!), so this isn’t that hard, except for finding the books and the time to read. I’ll go officially for the 50 book limit. Here’s my list so far:

1. X Saves the World – Jeff Gordinier
2. I Killed – compiled by Ritch Shydner and Mark Schiff
3. Dead Until Dark – Charlaine Harris
4. Living Dead in Dallas – Charlaine Harris
5. Club Dead – Charlaine Harris
6. Dead to the World – Charlaine Harris
7. Dead as a Doornail – Charlaine Harris
8. Definitely Dead – Charlaine Harris
9. All Together Dead – Charlaine Harris
10. From Dead to Worse – Charlaine Harris
11. The Worlds 20 Worst Crimes – Kate Kray (should be titled “The World’s Worst Edited Book”!)
12. Lizard Music – D. Manus Pinkwater
13. 10 Strategies for Reentering the Workforce – Mary E. Ghilani
14. Dinosaur Bones – Bob Barner
15. No More Pumpkins! – Peter Catalanotto and Pamela Schembri
16. Wanted! One Good Mouser – Paulo Campos
17. Twilight – Stephenie Meyer (I’ve decided that ALL the humans in this series are annoying on my 2nd read of this book. Charlie being the best of them.)
18. The Education of Robert Nifkin – Daniel Pinkwater (very nice story. I thoroughly enjoyed this one. Not too long, not too short.)
19. Extreme Animals – Nicola Davies
20. Brave New World – Aldous Huxley
21. One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest – Ken Kesey
22. A Family Called Bronte – Paula Guzzetti
23. Sucker Bet – Erin McCarthy (I really enjoyed this one. I’d rather read a series about Gwenna and Nate solving crimes than more Sookie Stackhouse books.)
24. Body Movers 3: Three Men and a Body – Stephanie Bond
25. The Field Guide to North American Hauntings – W. Haden Blackman
26. Dead and Gone – Charlaine Harris
27. 20 Years of Alternative Music – Spin Magazine
28. The Dilbert Principle – Scott Adams
29. Comic Relief – ed. Todd Gold (pretty funny – a collection of comedy from the Comic Relief specials)
30. I Have Chosen to Stay and Fight – Margaret Cho (Why did I like her again?)
31: Body Movers – Stephanie Bond
32: Body Movers: 2 for the price of 1 – Stephanie Bond
33. Body Movers 4 – Stephanie Bond
34. High Stakes – Erin McCarthy
35. Bit the Jackpot – Erin McCarthy
36. Notes from a Small Island – Bill Bryson (I liked Walking in the Woods better.)
37. 5 Bodies to Die For – Stephanie Bond
38. 6 Killer Bodies – Stephanie Bond (good ending of the story arc so far)
39. Nice Girls Don’t Have Fangs – Molly Harper (uninteresting – I couldn’t even finish it)
40. Carrie – Stephen King
41. I Only Have Fangs For You – Kathy Love
42. My Sister is a Werewolf – Kathy Love (2/4 of these books done – they’re racy, but good. Lots of “soul mate” talk.)
43. Jane Austen Book Club – Karen Joy Fowler (I liked the movie too.)
44. The Bell Jar – Sylvia Plath
45. Fangs but no Fangs – Kathy Love
46. Party Crashers – Stephanie Bond
47. Fangs for the Memories – Kathy Love
48. Friday Night Knitting Club
49. Bled Dry – Erin McCarthy
50. Any Way You Want It – Kathy Love

8/16/09: I did it!

51. I Want You to Want Me – Kathy Love
52. Losing It – Valerie Bertinelli
53. Traci Lords: Underneath it all – Traci Lords
54. You’ll Never Nanny in this Town Again – Suzanne Hansen
55. My Life in High Heels – Loni Anderson
56. Does Anybody Have a Problem with That? – Bill Maher
57. How to Lose your Ass and Regain your Life – Kirstie Alley (horrible!!!)
58. Here’s the Story – Maureen McCormick
59. Like a Lampshade in a Whorehouse – Phyllis Diller
60. Stori Telling – Tori Spelling
61. I Feel Bad About my Neck – Nora Ephron
62. What Would Susie Say? – Susie Essman
63. Too Fat to Fish – Artie Lange
64. Prairie Tale – Melissa Gilbert
65. Bouncing Back – Joan Rivers
66a. (1/2) Finding It – Valerie Bertielli (really, really boring.)
66b. (1/2) Yes, You’re Pregnant, but What About Me? – Kevin Nealon (also boring)

4 Responses to “Lisa Librarian”


  1. June 8, 2009 at 10:27 pm

    Oh, I think I’ll skip #11! 🙂

    I actually go to the library closest to work much, much, much more often than the library closest to me – it’s just more convenient to stop by at lunch. They’re (now) all in the same library system. I think just supporting your library is what’s important.

  2. June 9, 2009 at 12:52 am

    Wanted to stop in and welcome you to the Support Your Local Library Reading Challenge. If you haven’t already, feel free to join our Yahoo Groups . There you’ll find others who are trying to complete this reading challenge.

    Links to post your reviews are found at the bottom of J. Kaye’s Book Blog. The bottom of the blog has clickable buttons. Just click on 2009 Book Challenges and it will take you to the correct page. This is, of course, totally optional.

    Have Fun!

  3. June 9, 2009 at 10:14 pm

    I think I’ll skip #11 too. That drives me batty.

    I do like my local library but I get books from all over. Hallelujah for intralibrary loan.

    Your lollipop sweater is really cute!! Get cracking on Juliet, although is it warm enough? Crazy cool weather.

    Tweeting. I fear that the way I fear Facebook.

  4. June 10, 2009 at 11:44 am

    I know what you mean. Our local branch isn’t even open on weekends, and it’s mostly kids’ books anyway. I understand, and it makes sense for a small local branch, but… I still don’t have a library card because they tend to be closed when I can go.


Leave a Reply

Elspeth

is a knitter, librarian and pop culture enthusiast in the San Francisco Peninsula. Email me at emmckee@rocketmail

Tweets, if I bother

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

June 2009
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

