28
May
09

One piece at a time

Well, I’m nearing the finish line on my Malabrigo sweater, formerly Clementine’s Cardi.  I frogged the two fronts as far as I needed to and they have become the two back pieces, because they’re in rib and I didn’t like the look of the rib as much as the stockinette.  Then I frogged back the “sleeves and top back” piece that I couldn’t get to fit with the fronts, and made them into two front pieces, in stockinette with a 1 x 1 rib border.

I am FINALLY done with the fronts and the backs. I have knit on this sweater everywhere: knitting group #1 in Belmont, CA; knitting group #2 in Burlingame, CA; walking with my kids before school; the San Francisco Zoo; and today at the park near the Maker Faire, among other places.  I also started the first sleeve (I’m thinking 3/4 sleeves) at the “Night at the Museum 2” movie yesterday.

Sorry for the crappy picture. I’m short. I have a crappy camera.

I’ve been busy otherwise, as well. I started the Cherry Bomb tank from Big Girl Knits, and finished most of the front and back on my knitting machine this weekend. I just need to finish the upper back and the edges so the stockinette doesn’t curl, then I’m done. What to do with the rest of my Dale of Norway Sisik?

3 Responses to “One piece at a time”


  1. May 29, 2009 at 3:03 pm

    *blink blink* I think I’m confused about the sweater and how many fronts, backs, tops, bottoms, and sides are involved! 😉

  2. May 31, 2009 at 8:41 pm

    Great progress! I’m averse to frogging, but when you like the stockinette better than the ribbing, it’s the only thing to do. The Malabrigo is so pretty, it would be a pity not to find the perfect pattern for it.

    I love Cherry Bomb. When I “grow up” (and all the women in my family eventually do), I’ll make one for myself. It’s going to look dead sexy when you’re done.

  3. June 2, 2009 at 9:07 pm

    Did you finish it! I’m always frogging things too because I’m not sure how it’ll look/work until I actually knit it up.

    That tank looks cute too. What are you going to do with the rest of the DoN Sisik? How much is left?


Leave a Reply

Elspeth

is a knitter, librarian and pop culture enthusiast in the San Francisco Peninsula. Email me at emmckee@rocketmail

Tweets, if I bother

May 2009
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

