19
May
09

Lazy Monday

I spent last night watching the SNL Shorts show. As per usual on SNL shows this century, there were 5 amazing ones, and the rest could have been kept in the vault. Of course one of the best was “Lazy Sunday”, where Andy Samberg and Chris Parnell (one of my favorites on SNL – I was unhappy when he was fired and happy when he was brought back) discuss the movie “The Chronicles of Narnia”, Magnolia cupcakes (I went there last summer in NYC and I was unimpressed, but then again I don’t smoke so maybe when you have the munchies they taste better? 🙂 ), and other snacks.

On one of my more recent trips to Portland, my friend A. showed me the You Tube sensation, Mark Feuerstein (“Caroline in the City”, among others) doing his answer to “Lazy Sunday” – “Lazy Monday” (“because in L.A. none of us have jobs so every day’s Lazy Sunday”). If you have spent any time in L.A. you will love it. I loved the Thomas Guide reference, the Coffee Bean, and watching the Color Me Mine references (one of my other favorites was when Snoop Dogg had his show on MTV and he did a sketch about his posse spending time at Color Me Mine. Classic!)

Of course I’ve loved the Martin Short, Harry Shearer and Christopher Guest “Synchronized Swimming” sketch, “You’re not angry, you’re just pointing …” and another classic that A. introduced me to, “D*** in a Box” with Andy Samberg and Justin Timberlake. But one of the funniest was one I had never seen before.

There was a sketch, apparently, where Ricky Gervais tells that his inspiration for the British version of “The Office” was based on a Japanese show, and he shows a clip. Of course this Japanese The Office is exactly like the American version of The Office, only they have added some Japanese stereotypes (the girl laughing with her hand in front of her mouth, the bowing, and Karaoke) and everyone is talking in Japanese. Sooo funny!

Meanwhile, I was getting my Clementine’s Cardi ready for updating. I ripped back at least 30 inches of knitting on four pieces, and am knitting each of the 4 back to 15 inches long, where I’ll follow a pattern from The Knitters Handy Book of Patterns and make a new cardigan. So far so good.

Also yesterday, my MIL and I did our Mother’s Day outing – the most delicious brunch at the Ritz in Half Moon Bay. It was so nice to get out of our heatwave (it’s gone, thank God, today and was around 70) and to the coast. She also lent me her camera cord, since Brett’s is the same as hers. So without further ado, I give you my Clapotis by Machine:

and modeled by Oren (as our neighbor calls him):

3 Responses to “Lazy Monday”


  1. May 19, 2009 at 6:41 pm

    LOL at your model!

    • May 20, 2009 at 9:26 pm

      It’s nice to see an expressive model.

      Caroline in the City!! That’s where I know him from.

      I’m not big on skits. For some reason, I rarely find any of them funny.

      • May 20, 2009 at 9:38 pm

        He’s been in a lot, but that’s where I first saw him.

        I’ve liked SNL off and on for years, but they are very hit or miss anyway.


Leave a Reply

Elspeth

is a knitter, librarian and pop culture enthusiast in the San Francisco Peninsula. Email me at emmckee@rocketmail

Tweets, if I bother

May 2009
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

