17
May
09

The Kids are Alright

It’ s a heatwave here in Northern California.  We rarely have air conditioning in this area because we “don’t need it” but some days we really do! It’s on or about 90 here today and I’m sweating!

So in order to get some relief, I took the kids to Chuck E. Cheese.  It has air conditioning.  I’m not one of those Chuck E. Cheese snobs (I think I only know one other mom that can stand it) – I don’t love it, but it entertains the kids for a bit, it’s air conditioned, or it’s a break from the rain, when we have it.  Even though I forgot to bring some of my directions, I did bring each one of my WIPs so I could work on them.

I only have about 3 inches total left on my Juliet:

I’m also done with my Lollipop sweater, I just have to seam it up. It’s from Knitovation, and thus is *very* boxy, but it was easy to make and is a good stash buster. I used up 6 1/4 skeins of one color of Silk Garden, and 1 skein each of the other 2 colors of Silk Garden that I had. I’m down at least 8 skeins of yarn! (and I haven’t bought any in a month, although I did do some trading on Ravelry and we’re off to the Ritz in Half Moon Bay for brunch tomorrow so I’ll have to stop by Fengari …)

I’m also working on a version of Cherry Bomb from Big Girl Knits (alas, I finally fit into their smaller sized pattens). I just started it yesterday and I’m up to the armholes using Dale of Norway Sisik yarn that I got from Little Knits years ago. More stash busting!

I also have a plan for my HUGE Clementine’s Cardi. I’m going to rip back as far as I need to to get into one of the sweater patterns in The Knitters’ Handy Book of Patterns and go from there.  Of course I brought the whole sweater with me, but not my plans! Oh well.

Last but not least, I have sent an old project to the frog pond. I started this sweater a couple of years ago. I started with a pattern from Knitting Over the Edge, then continued in the round, but it never fit me. I found another potential project in Edgar from Knitty but I haven’t started it yet. Here’s my former Gedfra Fashion Trend project (I bought the yarn at La Knitterie Parisienne in line behind Mrs. Kotter – Marcia Strassman!)

So much yarn, so little time!

2 Responses to “The Kids are Alright”


  1. May 18, 2009 at 12:29 am

    Wow, crazy hot! 😦 Pretty Silk Garden! And you are doing about 500% more knitting than I have been.

  2. May 18, 2009 at 8:22 pm

    Juliet is looking good!!

    Wow, you were as hot as we were, almost. Too hot.

    Progress and the frog pond. The life of knits. Mrs Kotter! Awesome.


Leave a Reply

Elspeth

is a knitter, librarian and pop culture enthusiast in the San Francisco Peninsula. Email me at emmckee@rocketmail

Tweets, if I bother

May 2009
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

