12
May
09

Missing You

I’m on a Knit Picks sock yarn kick.  First Chris was nice enough to send me some Knit Picks Felici in the Firefighter colorway and I just love it!  I had seen it before in the catalog but I guess I thought I would order it sometime in the future.  However, I hadn’t read the fine print that KP is making Felici have limited edition colorways, and once they were gone, they were gone.  Lame!  I had those 2 skeins, and then I was lucky enough to get 2 more in a destash, and then I traded for the leftovers someone had after making kids’ socks.  Not that I can ever have enough, mind you.

Before my introduction to KP Felici, I had bought some KP Sock Garden.  I didn’t realize the gorgeousness of the colorways until I tried to knit them up.  I love the red, pink and green of Geranium, and didn’t really appreciate the yellow, orange and reds of the Zinnia colorway until I used some for my Sockapalooza (2) socks, and I was hooked.  I’ve been collecting this since discontinued colorway, and ended up wtih 5 skeins after the Sockapalooza (2) socks (Thanks, Zonda!!!

Well, I had to use more of my Zinnia stash this weekend.  My friend Cathy invited me to her birthday party, and I asked her what her favorite color was.  She said orange and yellow, and of course I immediately thought of my Zinnia yarn, but I didn’t want to part with it!  I went shopping at our last remaining yarn shops (we’ve lost quite a few lately) and just never found a good replacement.  So, I had to use it.  I was very happy when I only needed 2 balls, though, so I’ve got at least 2 left.  Of course my camera ran out of batteries, I had to rush to the party, and now I can’t find the cord to Brett’s camera…

(I have a great new idea on what to call my husband and kids rather than their initials, but I can’t remember 2 of the ones I thought of!  My new naming scheme has to do with the mistaken names they are called in public – like you give your name somewhere and they get it close, but no cigar.  When people call me Elizabeth I say “sure” because I don’t really care/prefer it, but when I suggested Brett as a baby name, my husband wouldn’t consider it because he’s called it by mistake often.  So … DH = Brett; DS1 =  Dylan; DS2 = Oren; DS3 = I can’t remember! )

Anywho, I made another Clapotis by Machine – it took me from 9 am to 2 pm on Saturday, including finishing and ironing.  It looks gorgeous and maybe someday I can get it from it’s hostage situation in Brett’s camera.  I didn’t do it on the bias this time, which took a lot less time and was less annoying on the machine, and it looked gorgeous.  It looks similar to Lorna‘s non bias oriented Clapotis:

More photos to come!

5 Responses to “Missing You”


  1. May 13, 2009 at 1:57 am

    That was good of you, giving up some of your Zinnia! Hmm, I can’t remember the name of the colorway that I have – it’s got purple and black and maybe yellow? *too lazy to get off couch and find out*

  2. May 13, 2009 at 9:47 pm

    Sweet of you to give up the Zinnia! What did you knit her? That you don’t have any photographic evidence of. ;0

  3. May 19, 2009 at 1:24 am

    wow, your clapotis is gorgeous! 🙂

  4. June 30, 2013 at 4:06 am

    Wonderful work! That is the kind of information that should be shared around the internet.
    Disgrace on Google for now not positioning this submit higher!
    Come on over and visit my website . Thanks =)


Leave a Reply

Elspeth

is a knitter, librarian and pop culture enthusiast in the San Francisco Peninsula. Email me at emmckee@rocketmail

Tweets, if I bother

May 2009
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

