01
May
09

W(h)IP it (good)

I just can’t stop starting new projects! Currently I’ve got 5 current works in progress.

I started Clementine’s Cardi first, and got stalled by having to resize the pieces I already knit.

Then I started Juliet, and I’m currently stalled by the lace at the bottom – it takes more attention than I have when I’m knitting this week.

Then I started Baccarat Player because I needed something that was just stockinette to take with me to the movies. (I saw “Haunting in Connecticut” – good, and “Observe and Report” – very bad.) I got stalled on that because I lost it, believe it or not!

Then, I started a new Clapotis. I have the leftovers of my Cascade Pima Silk from my huge machine knit sweater, and I wanted to use them up. I thought I had 2 skeins plus a bit, so I started it by double stranding with some Caron Simply Soft I bought for waste yarn on my machine. I got really far, then I ran out of the first skein of Pima Silk, so I decided to double strand the Simply Soft until I got to the decreases, then bring in the second skein of Pima Silk again. My “creativity” got the better of me, and I decided to double strand the Simply Soft with some gray Wakiki that I have.

clap

I’m not convinced of the “stripes” it might create, so I’m tempted to rip the whole thing out. I’m not sure. Already I ripped out everything I knit at my knitting group on Tuesday. Then I found THIS:

shawl

Yes, another attempt at using up this Pima Silk (and another skein?) that got lost and forgotten. Ugh!

Meanwhile, I was planning on going to the movies today as well, and as I’m confused on my current WIPs, I decided to start yet ANOTHER one! So I cast on with double stranded Noro Silk Garden, for this Lion Brand Red Hot Sweater Jacket (sorry, it’s a Ravelry link, you know what a pain it is to look at the Lion Brand website with their logins and all). It’s 15″ of garter, so I can do it with my eyes closed. Not sure what I’ll do when I run out of this colorway of Silk Garden, though. I don’t plan on buying more. I don’t like this red-based colorway at all, but I do like the yarn.

jacket

WIP-wise, I’m also working on a lot of books and magazines at the same time too! I’ve got a stack of magazines I should be reading at the gym, if I actually went, that is. I also have been working through the Charlaine Harris books. I’m on “Definitely Dead” and am waiting for “Club Dead” from the library. Then I’ll have read all the older ones and be ready to read the new one when I can get it and it comes out next month. I also borrowed a “new” (I really don’t know if it is or not, because I read the other – I think – 3 already) Dexter book and it should be fun. Of course due to the economy we had to give up our Showtime and HBO so the only Dexter I’m going to be getting is in book form. Sigh.

4 Responses to “W(h)IP it (good)”


  1. May 1, 2009 at 12:28 pm

    I like the new blog header – very fun!

    My goodness, I can’t keep up with the knitting projects. 🙂

  2. May 1, 2009 at 12:29 pm

    I’m trying to remember – there is one critical Sookie short story to read, but I can’t remember where it fits in the series. It’s actually part of the story arc.

  3. May 2, 2009 at 1:38 am

    You really are a casting-on machine! Look at you go! Must be this whole spring thing, I can’t stop casting things on either. 2 pairs of socks, 1 sweater recently cast on, with plans to start another pair of socks in the next day or two. What’s going on here?

  4. May 4, 2009 at 3:07 am

    The more (WIP’s/books) the merrier, I say.

    Can you get Dexter online later, free?


Leave a Reply

Elspeth

is a knitter, librarian and pop culture enthusiast in the San Francisco Peninsula. Email me at emmckee@rocketmail

Tweets, if I bother

May 2009
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

