14
Apr
09

Nocturnal Blonde*

So my Clementine’s Cardi of last week may not be a total loss, but I need to do some major revision (the fronts are WAY too long/big and the sleeves/back may be just the right length already even though the pattern calls for a lower back piece that I haven’t even started yet – and to think I thought I might need more yarn!) before I can finish it up. So in the interim, I have started yet another project.

I long time ago I bought the Juliet pattern. I also had a grand plan recently to make some sort of sweater using the huge amount of rust/burgundy colored red yarn that I have but I wasn’t sure what pattern to use. I decided last weekend to start this project using the Juliet pattern. So far so good.

juliet

I’ve got this yarn to start with:

5 skeins Classic Elite City Lights
4 skeins Elann Connemara
3 skeins ArtFibers Diva
2 skeins Knit Picks Wakashan
1 skein Knit Picks Elegance
1 skein Brown Sheep Handpaint Originals

I’ve been doubling up the ArtFibers Diva and KP Wakashan, then Diva and Elann Connemara, then we’ll see – maybe Connemara and Elegance? The City Lights is bulky so I’ll use it singly. I really hope the yarn fits well together!

(*”Juliet” reminds me of my favorite band, The Ophelias. One of my favorite songs of theirs is “Nocturnal Blonde” where they act out the character of Ophelia. I wish there was a digital version, but so far I think it’s only on LP. They also do an amazing version of The Kinks’ “Wicked Annabella” – also only on LP. That sucks!)

2 Responses to “Nocturnal Blonde*”


  1. April 14, 2009 at 12:36 pm

    That’s going to be a cute sweater!

  2. 2 Pam
    April 15, 2009 at 7:28 am

    I wanted to thank you for the comment you left on my blog. I’m so sorry that you had to go through the same thing I did. I’m still really hurt by it, but you’re right – I don’t need to waste any more of my time with a bunch of puritanical, gossipy women whose only goal in life is to escape their families every week. I know the woman who wrote me that letter has read the blog – I saw my city on my list, and she was the only one who was still up.

    Breathe in that fog for me (I’m a native Bay Arean – East Bay) – I miss my home something awful. I’ve subscribed to your feed – your knitting is lovely!


Leave a Reply

Elspeth

is a knitter, librarian and pop culture enthusiast in the San Francisco Peninsula. Email me at emmckee@rocketmail

Tweets, if I bother

April 2009
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

