10
Apr
09

Big Time

This is going to be one big-ass sweater! (See the Thomas crayon box for scale?) Luckily I’m getting to the end of the sleeve pieces (I started one, needed a smaller project to carry around this weekend, so I put that aside and started the second sleeve. Now they both need about 4″ more.), then I’ll just have the bottom back piece to knit and to piece the sweater together. I’m thinking about doing that on my knitting machine, actually. I got more motivated when I recently saw an episode of Knitty Gritty on machine knitting, and they had my machine! It wasn’t that helpful, but it was somewhat motivating to get back into it.

kimono

I’ve finally found my camera, right about the time I realized I have way too much yarn for someone who lives with 4 other people in a 1000 square foot house should have. I took some pictures for Ravelry of some of my more recent purchases, and got some of my most recent finished objects. Here’s the Cable Rib Scarf I finished, and handed off to my mom who was visiting for my birthday:

cable rib

And here’s another I tried to finish for my friend’s 40th birthday. I finished before her birthday, but it ended up being way too short. I think I’ll end up using it like a cowl with a shawl pin. At least I used up a skein of Cascade 220. (Down 4 skeins with just these two projects!)

pink 2

I hope to get more projects done in the near future – I’ve got tons of movies to watch! I plan on going to the movies next week to see “The Haunting in Connecticut” (I already saw the TV movie version!), “Observe and Report” and maybe “Adventureland”. We already wasted time and money last week to see “Monsters Vs. Aliens”. It was quite a letdown for me, and I like to support those local companies!

That, and the many movies I have on my TiVo. I’m watching “Jane Eyre” again, I’m not sure why, but I’m enjoying it. I tried to watch “Strange Wilderness” today but I couldn’t even get through 15 min. I am not a big Steve Zahn fan, but I thought the other “Superbad” actors would help. They didn’t.

I got DL into movie spoofs lately. He watched “Spy Hard” and “Hot Shots” this weekend, and I watched “Dracula: Dead and Loving It” with him today. It sucked. You know it’s bad when you’d rather clean than watch a movie!

Okay, I guess I’ve put off my 8 inches of *reverse* stockinette long enough. (Soooo much more interesting than plain stockinette, I’m sure 🙂 )

1 Response to “Big Time”


  1. April 10, 2009 at 12:09 pm

    But will the sweater fit when it’s done??? 🙂


Leave a Reply

Elspeth

is a knitter, librarian and pop culture enthusiast in the San Francisco Peninsula. Email me at emmckee@rocketmail

Tweets, if I bother

April 2009
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

