01
Apr
09

Zero

No, “Zero” is not the number of projects I’ve finished recently. It’s not even the number of projects I’ve worked on recently. I guess it is, however, the number of projects I’ve started in the past week, since I finished my Scribble Lace Wrap. It’s also the Yeah Yeah Yeahs’ song I can’t stop listening to!

So as promised, here is my unprofessional photo of the very large Scribble Lace wrap I made. I just love it! It’s gorgeous! I used one skein of Manos (and then, duh, I realized I had more than just one skein, so I probably should have made something with all of them) and two skeins of Fortissima sock yarn. They match so well, and I will definitely wear it this summer!

scribble

And a close up of the yarns:

scribble 2

And then I got really, really responsible, believe it or not. I pulled out my Clementine’s Cardi that I had started awhile ago, and now I’ve completed the right front, and am almost done with the left front.

clementines

I really hope I have enough Malabrigo to finish it. I checked my Ravelry stash list and found that I do have quite a few balls, technically (although finding them in my house could be interesting) in Amoroso, the colorway I’m using, but I also have a skein or two in Geranaio, which is similar, and the cardigan is in pieces, so technically I could make the lower back or something in a slightly different colorway and it might even look like a “design feature”!

And my next project to fix will be the wrap I started while I was in Portland. I loved how the pattern was going, but of course when it was long and narrow (it’s supposed to be a triangular shawl) I ran out of yarn and I was cheap, lazy, something, and didn’t feel like trying to get more yarn. They even had Debbie Bliss Alpaca Silk (Aran) at the Yarn Garden in Portland, just not the same color, and I didn’t think of getting a contrasting color while I was there. So I literally shopped all over the Internet to find a comparable yarn (why I didn’t just get the same one, I’ll never know). I went to Webs and found a pretty similar yarn color, with a gold thread running through it, but not quite close enough in color, so I’m still going to have to pull it out and reknit it with stripes or something of this new yarn added in. That sucks! Anyway, here it is pre-frogging:

wrap

and a closer look at the yarn, which I do like a lot:

yarn

So, I really am working! (And reading too … more to come…)

4 Responses to “Zero”


  1. April 1, 2009 at 2:03 am

    Wow – you are knitting about 200% more than me!

  2. April 2, 2009 at 2:20 am

    You’ve been so busy knitting! Look at all this stuff! Amazing.

  3. April 2, 2009 at 10:41 pm

    LOVE the Scribble lace wrap!! OH I finished book 3. I really wish I had my hands on book 4 but hopefully I can get it from my friend soon. Dying to find out what’s gonna happen next. I was a little sad she threw Bill to the side too. However I think that the hot ware would be a nice contender. 😉

  4. April 5, 2009 at 12:41 am

    That scribble lace is gorgeous!

    Too bad about the Portland wrap. Don’t you hate that? Argh.


Leave a Reply

Elspeth

is a knitter, librarian and pop culture enthusiast in the San Francisco Peninsula. Email me at emmckee@rocketmail

Tweets, if I bother

April 2009
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

