24
Mar
09

You’re Pitiful

In 2 ways. One, I haven’t posted in forever (I think I need pictures, and I so rarely take pictures in my “real life”) and two, I *still* have startitis!

I keep finding yarn in my house and starting or planning projects because I want to use up my yarn, but there is only so much knitting I can do in a day, and those projects never seem to get fully started and/or finished!

Recently finished:

a “skinny scarf” (Ravelry info) of my own very exciting garter stitch pattern. I just am trying to use up my single skeins and/or bulky yarn that I can’t use in my knitting machine, so I brought out this Cascade Bobble that I bought from my LYS and wasn’t sure how to use. I also can’t keep away from destashes on Ravelry, so I’ve added a bit lately. One of my best purchases was 3 balls of Scholler & Stahl Fortissima Socka in red, 2 in dark green and 2 in light green. The dark green just happened to match this Bobble yarn perfectly so I used up the Bobble and now have a very cute short skinny scarf! (And am 1 1/2 skeins down!)

The Cable Rib scarf from Vogue Knitting on the Go: Scarves Two. It didn’t turn out as nice as the picture in the book, but I used up my 3 balls of Nashua Handknits Wooly Stripes that I bought on my last trip to Portland, just in time to buy *more* yarn at the most amazing LYS in America: Yarn Garden. I love this place. It is a full city block long, has an attached cafe, and happened to have a very nice sale this past weekend – more on that later. This yarn is also a bit scratchy, but I guess I could try washing it and see how it goes.

Recently started:

A Scribble Lace wrap. This was another serendipitous pairing. I had one skein of Manos Del Uruguay in a nice set of red shades, and some of my new stash of Scholler & Stahl Fortissima Socka in red. I’ve been very surprised at how long this one skein of Manos has gone. I wasn’t convinced I’d have enough Manos, but actually I’ve gone through one skein of sock yarn already on this pattern, and am about 3/4 done with the second! The wrap will be a very good length/width when I’m done, and actually I’m really done with the pattern, but I still have yarn left! So I guess I’ll keep knitting.

I also started a Ruffles Scarf from Scarf Style. Yes, I’ve been haunting the library recently! I’m not quite sure how this pattern is supposed to curl like the pattern says, but we’ll see. Here’s the most amazing story about the yarn used. I still have a lot of (tangled) dyed red Wool2Dye4 sock yarn, which I started untangling on the plane to Portland last weekend. In the past I had bought some SWTC Beyond that was on sale, and I just could not find a good pattern to use it in. I tried everything, but the little bumps made it impossible. I actually threw away quite a bit of it. So this week I decided to double strand the sock yarn with this Beyond and it is amazing – this is the most perfect pairing ever! Of course I’m not really sure how much Beyond I have left, and now I really want it!

I *also* started a triangular wrap/scarf with the Debbie Bliss Alpaca Silk Aran in purple that I have. I only had 3 skeins and of course it is just a bit too short, and I don’t have any more! I have some black, but it would look weird being added in now, and I really don’t want to restart. This one is in hibernation for now.

Planned projects:

I have been pulling out yarn, thinking I’ll just start a sweater randomly. I need a grey sweater, but I wasted the Pima Silk I had on the sweater I made for my machine knitting class, so believe it or not, I don’t have any grey yarn! I really don’t want to buy more …

I also really enjoy the book Knitovation by Barry Klein and Fayla Reiss. (As a side note – I was reading the reviews on Amazon and ended up adding my own review and you would not believe what tag Amazon suggested I add for this book – “worthless”!!!! How rude. Personally, I really like it.) I’ve got a couple of patterns in my “queue” and so much sweater yarn, you would not believe. First I’m going to make one of the wrap/kimono patterns with my collection of rust/burgundy colored reds, then I’m going to make “Purcy”, a purse, and then who knows! I’ve got a number of weeks before the library asks for it back 😉

2 Responses to “You’re Pitiful”


  1. March 25, 2009 at 2:05 am

    My goodness. *blink blink* You are out of control! 😉

  2. March 25, 2009 at 10:40 pm

    That’s not startitis. That’s a Syndrome.:)

    Ruffles is cute! I frogged my version from Handknit Holidays. It was too tightly knit.

    And I am NOT pitiful. Much. :0


Leave a Reply

Elspeth

is a knitter, librarian and pop culture enthusiast in the San Francisco Peninsula. Email me at emmckee@rocketmail

Tweets, if I bother

March 2009
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

