03
Mar
09

Help!

I’ve got startitis!

However, I have finished a few things, so since some have gone by the wayside, I guess it all works out, right?

First, I finished my Mr. Greenjeans. It fits, but makes me look huge, so it will be a lounging around the house sweater. To quote “Better Off Dead”, one of my favorite movies, “It’s sure *warm*”

greenjeans

Here is also a wrap thing I created on my knitting machine awhile ago. It’s just a rectangle, but maybe someone can use it. (I tend to give my knitting away to wherever will take it.)

wrap

The startitis I mentioned was mostly on scarves. I have finished 2, started and frogged one, and am almost done with a third.

First there was the recycled silk scarf. This started as a feather and fan scarf, then something else I can’t recall, and ended up being a standard drop stitch scarf. I’m doing pretty well on stashbusting this year!

recycled

Then there was the last skein of Patons SWS that I didn’t need for my Mr. Greenjeans. I decided to follow another drop stitch pattern, but I only did one repeat since I only had one skein of yarn, so it looks a bit weird:

sws

And finally another frogged project. I have been into drop stitches recently, so I tried to start my own pattern but failed miserably. Here it is pre-frogging:

nashua

It’s my Nashua Wooly Stripes that I got in Portland, but they only had 3 skeins so I’m on a limited budget of yarn in this case. I frogged it, and have since started a pattern from Vogue Knitting on the Go: Scarves. I’m almost done, so a picture will be forthcoming.

So what am I down, 3 + 10? + 3 skeins of yarn? Pretty good, if you ask me! And I haven’t bought any this year, I think. (However, I am going to Portland in 2 weeks, and I have been limited to only 2 yarn stores 😉 )

And, I have been very prolific in other realms as well! I’ve been trying to walk more, and one week logged 14 miles. To keep myself from getting bored, I’ve been bringing books with me (yes, I’m old school – it’s not an audio book or podcast or Kindle or anything). I’ve finished all 4 of the Twilight books. I really enjoyed the first, but after that it was hard slogging through 2100 more pages (I’m guesstimating) of “I love Edward.” “I love Jacob.” “I don’t know what the hell I want” – Bella, and the horrible writing style of Stephenie Meyer. It is so obvious in the books that she 1) went to Brigham Young and 2) has a degree in English Literature. She really seems to think she’s a more God-fearing Shakespeare than just a Harry Potter wannabe.

Anyway, speaking of Startitis, I’m in the middle of a pretty interesting book, “X Saves the Day” about Generation X and how screwed we’ve been being between the Boomers and the Milennials. I also started and gave up on “I Hate Your Guts” by Jim Norton. It was slightly funny, and very unfunny.

I’ve also now got 3 or 4 books waiting for me, through my library holds, so I’d better get to it!

4 Responses to “Help!”


  1. March 3, 2009 at 8:21 pm

    Oh, it’s too bad Mr Greenjeans is too big – it turned out great!

  2. March 7, 2009 at 1:33 am

    oh no..sorry to hear mr. greenjeans isn’t flattering on you. 😦 at least it’ll keep you warm in your house though. 🙂

  3. 3 elizabeth (withoutspeaking)
    March 10, 2009 at 3:04 am

    better off dead is an excellent movie

  4. March 15, 2009 at 9:54 pm

    Mr Greenjeans is so pretty though! But at least “warm”. 🙂

    Walking and reading a book? I used to to that! Now I’d only try that on a treadmilll.

    Surely Chris has many vampire book recommendations.


Leave a Reply

Elspeth

is a knitter, librarian and pop culture enthusiast in the San Francisco Peninsula. Email me at emmckee@rocketmail

Tweets, if I bother

March 2009
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

