11
Feb
09

Time After Time

Well, I’m in yet another busy period at “work” – the kids have their annual performance in Oakland, so I need to drive them over for the rehearsal tomorrow, then back on Thursday for the actual performance. BR and I had for awhile had a rotating schedule so we only had to do the performance once every other year, but last year it was OR’s first time (you have to be 4 to be in the performance and he was almost 5), and this year it’s IM’s first time, so we’re all going yet again.

In the past I had a nice day in Oakland – dropping the kids off in the morning, going yarn shopping, visiting friends from the Job From Hell, etc. But this year, my first year with no kids along, I actually have to drive back home after dropping them off to finish some work due tomorrow, then go back and pick them up at 2:30. Fun. I’m going to try and stop by Bittersweet, though, a chocolate store I just read about online, and we’ll see if it lives up to its hype.

Did I mention after the performance, noon on Thursday, they have 4.5 days off? Fun.

Today is DL’s 9th birthday. Time really does fly, doesn’t it? You’ll have to do the math yourself, but we’re also coming up on our 10th wedding anniversary 😉 We did date for many years before that, though, if it makes it any better. We had a fun kid day of Chuck E Cheese and Red Robin and the actual party will be on Sunday, probably in the rain (yuck).

Anyway, I have been busy. I finished my Mr. Greenjeans yesterday, but haven’t found my camera to photograph it. It is very warm, and fits, but makes me look like Mike Birbiglia’s quintessential “pumpkin” (“Old people are always angry, ‘I used to be cool, now I’m shaped like a pumpkin, I’m going to play golf’,” he quotes) in it. So I guess I’ll use it inside for a warm sweater. And I loved the button, too, but until I lose the baby weight (hey, IM’s only 4 1/2 😉 🙂 ) it will have to stay inside.

*and*, believe it or not, I’ve actually read 2 more books! Yes, I have! Maybe if I start reading more, they’ll give me a library job so I won’t have time to read anymore 😉 I read “I Killed”, a bunch of stories by stand up comedians on their road antics. Some of them were really funny! I also read a book of essays about people dealing with getting dumped, but it was pretty bad so I guess I’ve blocked the title out in my mind. I’ve got the 2nd two Twilight books in my queue now.

Oh, that reminds me, I read the 2nd book in the series, “New Moon”, which always gets that Duran Duran song into my head. It was entertaining, but I think it wasn’t as good as the first. I think the author really stretched the characters to make the 2nd, and I can only imagine how annoying books 2 and 3 are going to be. She probably should have stopped at 1. Not to mention that her having gone to Brigham Young and people’s discussion about how it was an “abstinence” encouraging book has turned me off a bit to the whole thing. I think I agree with Stephen King that she’s not that great a writer. If she had done just the first, it might have been different.

1 Response to “Time After Time”


  1. February 11, 2009 at 2:32 pm

    Happy birthday to DL!!

    The books do get more annoying. By the end of any given book, I want to slap all of the characters. 😀


Leave a Reply

Elspeth

is a knitter, librarian and pop culture enthusiast in the San Francisco Peninsula. Email me at emmckee@rocketmail

Tweets, if I bother

February 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
232425262728  

