31
Jan
09

Going to Maryland

I’m not (and never will be) a Republican, but this is great news for Maryland: former Lt. Governor Michael Steele was just named the first African-American head of the RNC. A good friend of mine worked with Lt. Gov. Steele while he was serving Maryland, so I have a good association with him, as well as being another “first” in American politics. Maybe we really have turned a corner.

While I was reading this news, I am on my first sleeve (almost done) of my Mr. Greenjeans. I don’t know how much Patons SWS I had to begin with, then I bought 3 skeins from someone on Ravelry. Then I thought I had almost run out and just bought 4 more skeins from someone on Ravelry (that hasn’t come yet), meanwhile the 1 1/2 skeins I have left might just be enough! So I’ll end up having 4 skeins of a yarn I wasn’t that excited about to begin with. I really like the yarn, it’s just not my colorway. In fact, I’m surprised I bought it and made a sweater with it, as I don’t know if I’ll wear it.

sweater

I’ve been following the pattern, but already I think the cable part is started too low in the actual sweater part, and I started the cable on the sleeve before it said to, and I think I’d rather have more cabling – like maybe a full sleeve of ribbing with cabling at the end. Maybe when I make my 2nd (yeah, right!)

5 Responses to “Going to Maryland”


  1. January 31, 2009 at 4:55 am

    *fingers crossed about the turning a corner thing*

    The sweater looks good! Are you feeling healthy now?

  2. February 1, 2009 at 3:22 am

    the sweater is looking pretty good. hope you wear it!

  3. February 1, 2009 at 1:34 pm

    Lovely! I think more cabling is a great idea. I like the bottoms of my sleeves to be fitted.

  4. February 3, 2009 at 8:00 pm

    Fingers crossed to turning a corner too! No matter how politically correct the appointment may have been to begin with, hopefully it will break a barrier for good.

  5. February 3, 2009 at 8:01 pm

    Oh! I think the sweater looks really cute. But next one, sure. Apply the mods then. 😉


Leave a Reply

Elspeth

is a knitter, librarian and pop culture enthusiast in the San Francisco Peninsula. Email me at emmckee@rocketmail

Tweets, if I bother

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

January 2009
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

