21
Jan
09

Be Prepared! (or, Ding Dong…)

So, as I was watching the old guard (literally – have you ever seen more old white men and women together than today on the way to the Inauguration?) come into the stands and be introduced, I couldn’t help but notice that one of the Biden clan had her child in one hand and *her knitting* in the other! Right there for all to see, in infamy, some fake fair isle socks! I mean, I’m sure it will be long and possibly boring, but won’t you be busy paying attention to your 3 year old child all day? I know I’d have knitting, but I’d keep it hidden at least until I sat down to watch that other guy (theme song of the day, “Ding dong, the witch is dead …”) give his leaving town speech. (Hooray!)

I didn’t watch the Inauguration as I had to work (take the kids to school) but I saw the procession and I loved seeing the swearing in even in pictures. I feel like a giant weight has lifted.

3 Responses to “Be Prepared! (or, Ding Dong…)”


  1. January 21, 2009 at 1:12 am

    I hear ya about the giant weight!!

  2. January 22, 2009 at 8:37 pm

    OMG, that is too funny. I used to knit all the time during out 3 hour long briefings. After some peeps saw me doing it, then they would bring in their crocheting stuff. I guess it is better than playing Tetris on your cell phone. LOL

  3. January 23, 2009 at 4:23 am

    I didn’t catch the knitting! And I watched all day long! Good eye. Maybe the child is an exceptionally well behaved child? More likely, plenty of people to keep an eye out.


Leave a Reply

Elspeth

is a knitter, librarian and pop culture enthusiast in the San Francisco Peninsula. Email me at emmckee@rocketmail

Tweets, if I bother

January 2009
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

