07
Jan
09

San Francisco

I’ve had a very busy weekend! Much busier than usual, and at the tail end of the holidays, even!

Saturday our friends were in visiting from L.A. and we decided to go to tea at the Palace Hotel (very close to where we used to live, what a blast from the past!). I knew that Crystal was big into hats, so of course I got this crazy idea that I could knit a hat before tea, and I found out about tea the night before! And of course I didn’t even start the hat until I was on the way to tea!

I got the Crazy Aunt Purl pattern for her “hat recipe” and quickly picked some yarn to try out. I had three skeins of Tahki Santa Fe that I bought from Yarn Paper Scissors. I started the hat and of course finished it on Sunday!

Tea was nice. I don’t know that I’d go back as the food was just okay, but I really enjoy tea, and it was fun to visit our old stomping grounds.

Then on Sunday we went to visit BR’s family in Marin County. The kids love going over the Golden Gate Bridge and back. They love playing with their aunts as well, so it was win/win for everyone. *Then* I finished the hat. This is one big hat!

hat

I didn’t quite use 3 skeins double stranded, and I’m not entirely sure it will fit, but it was fun. The yarn is interesting. It’s got some nice colors: black, green and pink, and weird little bobbles of roving off and on. The bobbles are even more evident in reverse stockinette, which I liked better than stockinette, so there are lots of bumps on this hat! I just may be making more bulky slouchy berets before the winter is over!

2 Responses to “San Francisco”



Leave a Reply

Elspeth

is a knitter, librarian and pop culture enthusiast in the San Francisco Peninsula. Email me at emmckee@rocketmail

Tweets, if I bother

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

January 2009
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

