03
Jan
09

New Year’s Day

Man, I’m on fire this year! In the past 2 days I’ve already finished 2 scarves I’m sending on to Stephanie to pass out to San Francisco’s homeless. I was trying to clean our house and ended up finding two unfinished scarves, which I then finished! Interestingly enough, they were both crocheted, but I didn’t feel like crocheting them so I got out my size 19 needles, and knit the rest of them in garter stitch. It’s not exactly the same, but it looks pretty good! One is in Lana Grossa Mega Fiamma and one is in Lion Brand Wool Ease Thick and Quick.

mega

thick

Awhile ago I also completed this wrap using a huge amount of Lion Brand Thick and Quick. I then bought 5 more skeins on Thanksgiving Day (!) at Michael’s, but I did use up my Rowan DK Marl that I’ve had forever. It is pretty big – I’d say maybe 6 feet wide? and very thick. I’ve already used it outside when I take the kids to the park, and it really helps.

thick

I basically crocheted a triangle, then added a crocheted edge in plain Thick and Quick because it wasn’t quite as wide as I would like.

And tomorrow, I’m off to tea at the Palace Hotel in San Francisco! I hope you have a nice weekend too!

3 Responses to “New Year’s Day”


  1. January 3, 2009 at 4:41 pm

    Nice to finish off lingering projects! Hope tea is lovely!

  2. January 3, 2009 at 8:40 pm

    Very nice and creative to complete your crocheted scarf with knitting. Smart !!!

  3. January 4, 2009 at 12:23 pm

    Croknit! Cool! They’re unique, they’re warm, and I’m sure they’ll be appreciated. Way to go! Looks like the new year came in with an extra dose of knitting mojo for you.


Leave a Reply

Elspeth

is a knitter, librarian and pop culture enthusiast in the San Francisco Peninsula. Email me at emmckee@rocketmail

Tweets, if I bother

  • @murrayv @jimmy_dore @mentalpod Great episode! 3 of my favorite comedians/podcasters on the same stage! 1 week ago
  • RT @GeorgeTakei: The lack of any outrage over the use of private emails by Trump's closest advisors shows that it never never was about her… 1 week ago
  • RT @TheGoodGodAbove: A week has passed since the Las Vegas massacre of 58 people. The USA has done nothing and is no longer talking about… 1 week ago
  • They did it *again*! @bigbangtheory's "scientists" said that "we" (Bernadette and Howard) are pregnant? That is not physically possible!!!! 3 weeks ago
  • @TheGoodGodAbove God, why did you make people that refuse to remember even a few years ago? Or can't open a history book? Or the internet? 1 month ago
January 2009
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

