26
Nov
08

Silence

We’ve had some bad news in our “little” town (there was some banking legislation that came out of my town, and I think it was 60 Minutes that called it “little San Mateo”) – I was driving home yesterday around 5 pm and noticed that there was a huge collection of news media outside our police station with cameras and lights. We found out the rest later.

Yesterday at 9:30 *a.m.* a woman called her husband who called the police to say that there was an armed intruder and she had barricaded herself and the kids in a bedroom. Neighbors actually got some of this on tape, which was really surreal in a suburb of San Francisco at 9:30 am on a Tuesday – but the SWAT team was called in, carried the kids out of the house to safety, and then there was gunfight, and the woman and the intruder both died. The pictures are so amazing since they’re about 2 miles from my house, and look like they’re straight out of a cop show.

Speaking of which, the series finale of The Shield was on last night. I have gone back and forth on the show over the past 6 years, but have watched it religiously. It wasn’t a great finale but it could have been so much worse (a la The Sopranos). Shane didn’t end up getting away with everything, like I thought he might, poor Ronnie ended up taking the blame for everything, and the piece de resistance was Vic’s comeuppance. His wife was put into the witness protection program, so he wouldn’t see her or his kids again; his only friends are either dead or in prison; and he is chained to a desk for the next 3 years! “I don’t do desks” will be my quote of the year!

I loved the last scene, where they spent at least 5 minutes letting it all sink in for Vic, and having a genius use of silence in their sound design. You could only hear the hum of the fluorescent lights while Vic “acted” and thought about what he had done, and the fact that for the next 3 years he would be required to sit at a desk from 9-6 (the lights and air conditioning automatically shut off at 6 pm!) and analyze data, unless he wanted to go straight to jail and not get immunity for everything. Jail would be fine for him, but a desk is really Hell. I can give up this show without longing for a better ending.

Tonight it’s the Sons of Anarchy season finale. I think it’ll be good, but what will I watch for the rest of the year? I just might have to get to the pile of magazines I have to read, and I have 5 books out of the library. I’m most interested in the media related books I have, Television Disrupted by Shelly Palmer, and a book about how Clear Channel killed commercial radio. Fun!

2 Responses to “Silence”


  1. November 28, 2008 at 7:07 pm

    Was that in your neighborhood? I heard she’d met him through Craigslist – he was stalking her? Horrible stuff. People are crazy. I was crying when they showed her handing her kids to safety.

    I’m mad at TV too. They keep cancelling shows I like and I really don’t feel like watching new ones get cancelled. Sounds like you’re having a bit of the holiday blues too. Hugs!

  2. November 29, 2008 at 7:00 pm

    Yikes. How scary and surreal.


Leave a Reply

Elspeth

is a knitter, librarian and pop culture enthusiast in the San Francisco Peninsula. Email me at emmckee@rocketmail

Tweets, if I bother

November 2008
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

