25
Nov
08

Awful

First of all, I don’t know if I’ll be able to afford to have my own site again once this year is over, and I’m not sure where I’d go, thanks to the amazingly great economy (and AIG continues to have company parties 😉 )

I don’t know if it is my general depression due to the economy or my lack of a fancy new job after job seeking for a year and a half, but I’m really uninterested in TV these days. I even told BR that if it came down to it, we could cancel our cable whenever.  Even Internet, now that’s bad.

Last week I was thoroughly disgusted with the The Office episode – it was so awful, I really almost don’t care if it comes back.  I gave up on ER because it’s been so overly over the top since they have been given a year to wrap up the show and bring back all those thousands of people that were on the show but didn’t get killed – hey, wait a minute, why do we get Anthony Edwards in a ghost cameo, but Kellie Martin is nowhere to be seen?  I also basically gave up on Californication, which not only has one of those Godawful “Zima” girls (Madeleine is on this show, I believe, and I saw another one somewhere else, and only recognized her by her speech’s cadence.  I love the Zimas just about as much as the [Matthew] Lawrences in the ’80s where they all had those Godawful bowl haircuts.) but really hasn’t been good this year.  I know they think it would be the death of the show to get Hank and Karen together but they were only together for a 1/4 show, and then now they’re apart again?  Lame.

The shows I actually do like I don’t really care if I see again either.  Dexter has been good as usual, but the whole Miguel storyline has been lame (I am not a Jimmy Smits fan), and it as a whole reminds me of last season: Dexter finds a crazy soul mate, Debra gets into some wacky relationship (although I do like Anton!), Rita is even more perfect in her ’50s housewife-y best, and there is nowhere near enough James Remar (!!!).

I’ve enjoyed The Shield for the past 6 years, and kind of even got back into it this season, but frankly I just don’t care how they wrap it up tonight.  Knowing my luck (which has been better lately, though, they did cancel Pushing Daisies, didn’t they?  Payback for having cancelled Dirt last year that I was so in love with.) Shane and Mara will get away scot free, they’ll start a Shane spin-off (God forbid) and Ronnie will be blamed for everything.

I do really like Sons of Anarchy and have been enjoying it, but I don’t know if I’ll care if it comes back or not. I think I’ve just begun to learn not to get attached – all the good shows get cancelled and the ones I don’t like are on into infinity.

And on that note, I finally gave the old heave-ho to my ill fated machine knit sweater.  It doesn’t fit, I re-knit the sleeve 3 times, sewed it up, and it still is huge and short.  (Way too much like me, I guess.)  So off to Goodwill it goes.  I wonder if anyone else will want it?

But I have started many other projects, and maybe one of these will be keepers, who knows.  They’re all wraps, which seems to be my M.O. this year.  First of all, my Lion Brand Wool Ease Thick & Quick/Rowan DK Marl wrap:

wool

and newest, my recycled silk wrap. The silk is very poorly spun, but the colors are gorgeous!

silk

4 Responses to “Awful”


  1. 1 Jen
    November 26, 2008 at 9:42 am

    Great Big Hugs, Elspeth. I know how you feel.

  2. November 28, 2008 at 2:31 am

    We dumped the cable when we moved here and just started watching Netflix. Sorry you’re having issues with the sweater though.

  3. November 29, 2008 at 6:56 pm

    My brother & SIL got an HDTV receiver and dropped their cable this year. Considering how much TV they watched, I was really impressed! *hug* about how you’re feeling re: the job. 😦

  4. December 11, 2008 at 10:22 am

    My fear is that this is a global phenomenon: In the UK most of the ‘better’ TV seems to be coming from HBO, Showtime etc. The BBC hasn’t done anything truly inventive since ‘Life on Mars’ and we have a 50/50 chance of things getting even worse as people crave ‘comfort TV’ to get them through the credit crunch….

    If it weren’t for DVD’s of older shows (SportsNight, Firefly, Weeds etc) I’d have to start reading books


Leave a Reply

Elspeth

is a knitter, librarian and pop culture enthusiast in the San Francisco Peninsula. Email me at emmckee@rocketmail

Tweets, if I bother

  • @murrayv @jimmy_dore @mentalpod Great episode! 3 of my favorite comedians/podcasters on the same stage! 1 week ago
  • RT @GeorgeTakei: The lack of any outrage over the use of private emails by Trump's closest advisors shows that it never never was about her… 1 week ago
  • RT @TheGoodGodAbove: A week has passed since the Las Vegas massacre of 58 people. The USA has done nothing and is no longer talking about… 1 week ago
  • They did it *again*! @bigbangtheory's "scientists" said that "we" (Bernadette and Howard) are pregnant? That is not physically possible!!!! 3 weeks ago
  • @TheGoodGodAbove God, why did you make people that refuse to remember even a few years ago? Or can't open a history book? Or the internet? 1 month ago
November 2008
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

