17
Nov
08

Finally!

I finally got off my you know what to figure out if my camera still worked (just barely – and I even bought a new one that doesn’t work!).  And I put aside some of my huge list of work to show off what I’ve completed lately.  First of all, I’ve also been distracted by this:

Our neighbor’s outdoor cat, Opal, has taken a liking to us and has come in to sleep on our bed off and on lately. We’ve discovered that not only is BR allergic to cats but IM is too, so I haven’t been able to let her in as much lately. But it is very nice to have a cat to take a nap with.

Here’s what we’ve started seeing lately as well:

Opal

“Let me in!!!”

So my machine knitting, part 2 class has been progressing nicely. After 7 weeks (each class is 5 weeks), I ended up with a new sweater:

grey sweater

Made out of a very nice Cascade Pima Melange yarn, it’s huge. I washed it in my machine and it shrunk up, so now it’s short and huge. But at least the sleeves aren’t past my hands anymore. My teacher suggested I use buttons to cinch it in at the waist and sleeves and I’ll probably do that, but right now I’m done. I’m just giving up.

I did end up buying the LK-150 and it’s fun to play with. I have made a shawl/wrap thing with leftover mohair yarn and plan to give it to my pink-loving friend for Christmas. Here it is sideways:

scarf

I also took up Stephanie‘s cause to make 100 scarves to be donated to San Francisco’s homeless. Last I heard she had made 37, and I tried to make a few more. I made a very nice one with Lion Brand Wool Ease but left it at my knitting teacher’s house by accident. I finished one very flimsy scarf out of Crystal Palace Breeze:

blue scarf

and started one yesterday with Lion Brand Wool Ease Thick and Quick. I then proceeded to run out of yarn, and time, as Stephanie’s group needs them by Wed.! I’m sure I’ll find another needy person to wear this really appropriate, warm, thick scarf.

cranberry

When I brought out my Thick and Quick (I am loving this yarn!) I also brought out a ball of black, and started another crocheted scarf yesterday. I’m also using up my Rowan DK Marl that I’ve had forever. I can’t wait to wear this one! (Yeah for stash busting too!)

black scarf

3 Responses to “Finally!”


  1. November 18, 2008 at 12:28 pm

    The poor kitty looks all shades of not happy with being stuck on the window sill. The red really accentuates her not happiness. LOL

    That is so cool about the knitting machine. Maybe one of these days (or years) will break down and get one. I cannot wait to see what else you make on it.

  2. November 18, 2008 at 5:12 pm

    Aw, poor kitty! Too bad there are so many allergic in your house. 😦

    Holy scarfamoley! 🙂

  3. November 19, 2008 at 5:44 pm

    Poor kitty! Allergies. Not fun.

    The knitting machine sounds great and the huge sweater is at least cute! Good luck with the scarves.


Leave a Reply

Elspeth

is a knitter, librarian and pop culture enthusiast in the San Francisco Peninsula. Email me at emmckee@rocketmail

Tweets, if I bother

November 2008
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

