04
Nov
08

The Facts of Life

“You take the good, you take the bad, you take them both and then you have…”

Well, I’m very happy that we won’t have to say Vice President Palin for the next 4-8 years, but I’m sad that we in California are just lame enough to think that someone being in love is a bad thing.  I voted against Prop 8 and and Prop 4 (what I like to call the “if you were a good parent you wouldn’t need this law” proposition) and even more than the presidential election I made sure that those “NO” votes were recorded correctly.

Someone on Ravelry mentioned where they were when Obama was announced to be the first “black” President, so I’ll add my two cents: I found out about Obama’s victory while I was at Starbucks with my knitting group.  So I can always remember knitting fondly!  Why am I now thinking about the scene in “Singles” when Kyra Sedgewick’s character says “I’m going to have to remember this chili dog forever?”  Personally, I get to remember the grey shawl I was knitting when I found out that we won!!!

3 Responses to “The Facts of Life”


  1. November 5, 2008 at 6:52 am

    Ugh, I’m sorry to hear that Prop 8 passed. 😦

    I was sitting on my couch, studiously not doing anything to find out the results of the election (my plan was to get up Wednesday and check) when bottle rockets started going off and people were running around outside and cheering. I knew then.

  2. November 5, 2008 at 12:14 pm

    OMFG, why did they vote for Prop 8. That leaves a real sad spot in my heart and soul for all of the loving couples in Cali.

    I was spinning yarn for Stinkie’s Gigi cardi when I heard the aweseme news about our next Comander and Chief. I have been a wave of emotions since last night.

  3. November 9, 2008 at 11:24 pm

    I know! I was so excited when Obama was elected in.

    McCain himself really wasn’t all that bad, but McCain with Sarah Palin? Scary. Frightening actually.

    Looks like some deity or another was looking out for America. I just wish that he/she’s also been looking out for California! How sad that Proposition 8 passed!

    http://www.jointheimpact.com/ – The site’s about a nationwide protest of this proposition. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Elspeth

is a knitter, librarian and pop culture enthusiast in the San Francisco Peninsula. Email me at emmckee@rocketmail

Tweets, if I bother

November 2008
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

