14
Oct
08

Wha…?

So I was, ahem, ordering some yarn from Webs, and I came across this notice:

“To prevent errors in the automated system, do not submit more than one online order per day. ”

Oh, only one *online* order. That makes sense. I read it as only “one” order per day. Phew. I can order from Webs to my heart’s content (and my quickly dwindling bank account’s content). I only went on to order some of their cheap cone yarns for my knitting machine!

I’m just about at the end of my machine knitting class, the last day is Thursday, and I need to finish the front of my sweater and two sleeves, and sew them on. A tall order for 4 hours, but we’ll see. And then I also have to return my rented machine, or pay the other $300 to keep it. I really want to keep it, but I’ve been reading some machine knitting books and they all talk about the patterns it can make, and mine doesn’t have a punchcard so I can only do patterns by hand. So I’m not sure whether I want to buy this one or look for another one. I’ve seen used machines for sale for less and some with more features, but then again I pretty much know how to use this one. Such a dilemma.

4 Responses to “Wha…?”


  1. October 14, 2008 at 5:51 pm

    But now that you have the basics down, don’t you think you could figure out another machine pretty easily?

  2. 2 kathy
    October 15, 2008 at 5:43 am

    hmmm – we’ll have to look into that message. Strange. If you do order more than once on -line per day it’s n ot a problem on our end. We’ll combine the orders.

    Not that we’re encouraging multiple orders or anything . Just sometimes something gets “forgotten” on the first order 🙂

    Kathy
    WEBS

  3. October 15, 2008 at 11:01 am

    I think you could figure out another machine pretty quickly myself.

    If you finish all that in four hours, I might be tempted to get a knitting machine.

    One online order a day? The restrictions…

  4. October 15, 2008 at 2:41 pm

    I spent about an hour finding a yarn place online that accepte Paypal as a fom of payment. I needed to order about 7 skeins for a test knit. A friend of mine in PDX has a few patterns that are being submitted to a Twilight Themed knitting book.

    Make sure to post what knitting machine you end up getting and a review on it. I am so looking forward to hearing about it.


Leave a Reply

Elspeth

is a knitter, librarian and pop culture enthusiast in the San Francisco Peninsula. Email me at emmckee@rocketmail

Tweets, if I bother

October 2008
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

