20
Sep
08

Your Cheatin’ Heart

So I did it, I cheated on hand knitting, and went out and bought a kids’ knitting machine.  It was really really cheap at K-Mart and I was curious.  DL and OR just loved it, but it was incredibly annoying …

knit

We originally “mastered” the tube, could not “master” the rectangle, and ultimately gave up.

tube

arm warmer

I took those crazy tubes, and made a scarf:

scarf 1

And because I received two “Fun Fur”-like skeins with the machine, I ended up getting into Fun Fur briefly, just enough to make two scarves for two girls we went to birthday parties for recently:

fun fur

And the machine knitting goes on. After my Machine Knitting to Dye For class, I got “hooked” and went to Michael’s to buy an Ultimate Sweater Machine. That ended up under my bed until now, unused. I also bought yet another kids’ knitting machine that had the upper tension rod like a real knitting machine, but haven’t opened yet. I suspect I’ll be returning those two, because for the next 5 weeks I’m a “real” machine knitter! I just started Loretta Warner‘s machine knitting class where in the next 5 weeks I’ll make a pullover, and I have rented a Silver Reed LK 150 which is sitting in my bedroom, waiting to be opened. (Don’t tell DL – I have plans to turn the unused parts of his room into my craft room: using his crap-covered desk for my knitting machine, ball winder and swift – photos to come when I get around to setting up this fun section of our house!)

5 Responses to “Your Cheatin’ Heart”


  1. September 21, 2008 at 1:05 pm

    I have two of those machines. Usually if the bratlings want a color themed scarf or if I have a bunch of scrap wool yarn, I will ply it to gether and make then a groovy long scarf. I need to get around to that for The school here. Let me know how the knitting machine goes. I have been debating on getting one.

  2. September 21, 2008 at 7:28 pm

    Those are some cute boys!! good luck encroaching on your DL’s space…wait; what’s a DL? Is that like DH?

  3. September 23, 2008 at 6:22 pm

    Oh, I want to see what you get up to with the USM and dyeing!

  4. September 25, 2008 at 7:21 am

    I had one of those knitting machines as a kid! It does a heart good to see the boys enjoying it so much.

  5. October 1, 2008 at 6:12 pm

    Oooh! I hope no one tells hand knitting they saw you two together in a yarn shop…..but think how fast some stuff will go now!


Leave a Reply

Elspeth

is a knitter, librarian and pop culture enthusiast in the San Francisco Peninsula. Email me at emmckee@rocketmail

Tweets, if I bother

September 2008
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

