25
Aug
08

Colours

Well, here it is. After 2 days of a lot of driving (and I went back and forth to San Jose on Friday so I’m done driving for awhile!), I have my finished flats from my Machine Knitting to Dye For class! It was so fun – if you are able to get to Northern California (make it a vacation!), I highly recommend Nancy’s class. And even though I wasn’t able to shop, Nancy’s studio is a few blocks from a yarn store, so you can shop too!

We learned about color and how to mix the dyes to make the gradations we were interested in. My first flat (I followed Nancy’s pattern for her Venitas bag, but didn’t make matching flats because I probably won’t end up with a bag – I probably should have done two of the same for more yarn that matches, but oh well, I’ll have to take the class again 😉 ) Here are my swatches and two flats:

flats

The swatches were done to teach three different knitting and dyeing techniques: stripes, tucks and gauge changes (I think) on the knitting machine, and color gradations with one color, two contrasting colors and two matching colors. On my flats I made stripes of black, grey, red, and pink. That turned out better than I expected. The second one was three different reds with a lighter version of each red in between. My only problem was the limited time I had to stay and let the dye set. (BR was watching the kids both days, sick, and not happy with me gone so long.) I came home and microwaved my yarn again many times (don’t tell Nancy 😉 ) as I’ve done with Kool-Ade dyeing but it still had lots of dye running out at the end. I finally gave up and let it dry. I hope I didn’t ruin them, but they at least probably aren’t as dark as they could have been. I’m happy with them, though, and I ran out to Target and bought some supplies for my own yarn dyeing hopefully after the kids go to school next week. I already have the dyes from a Yarn Coop purchase at least a year ago.

Now I have to figure out a nice pattern for each of the two! (Plus the swatches.)

4 Responses to “Colours”


  1. August 25, 2008 at 4:41 pm

    Isn’t dyeing fun?! It’ll be great to see how they wind up and then knit up.

  2. August 26, 2008 at 3:54 pm

    That looks like it was a lot of fun! Can’t wait to see how it turns out.

  3. August 26, 2008 at 5:59 pm

    Very nice dye job! Sounds like a great class.

  4. August 29, 2008 at 2:56 pm

    wow. the flats are pretty!


Leave a Reply

Elspeth

is a knitter, librarian and pop culture enthusiast in the San Francisco Peninsula. Email me at emmckee@rocketmail

Tweets, if I bother

August 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

