23
Aug
08

The Man Machine

knit

I had a great time at day one of my Machine Knitting to Dye For class!  One classmate actually flew from Massachusetts across the country to take the class!  Today we worked with the knitting machines to create “blanks” for one project.  We got some great knitting machine tips and I dare say I know what I want for Christmas!  Tomorrow we’re going to dye our “blanks” to get ready to make into a different project.  I chose the felted bag, which I probably won’t felt because I’m not a felting fan, but because I’ve got too much sock yarn already.  Speaking of which, these are the socks I finished last week:

socks

It’s not my favorite Regia colorway (kind of weird) and it only took 1 skein of sock yarn so I still have another one, but at least I have a F.O. and am down 1 skein of yarn. Of course this makes up for it, right, my Webs order?

red yarn

5 skeins of City Lights yarn.

new wool

4 skeins of New Wool yarn, including one that Nancy wound into a cone for me. I had hoped to machine knit this too today but I didn’t get a chance.

I’ve also been doing a lot of knitting lately. Once I finished my last socks, I started another pair which saved me during a 1/2 hour wait for an appt. yesterday:

regia

This is the Regia I ordered from Jimmy Beans Wool because I liked the color. Now that I’m knitting with it it seems more rust colored, which I’m not too fond of. But stashbusting is stashbusting, right?

And because we went to the movies this week (the last week of the Cinemark Summer Movie Clubhouse – “Arthur and the Invisibles” which I only saw the beginning of and didn’t miss much.) I brought out my old project from June which is supposed to be a tank made out of the 5 balls of the Cathay (?) that I have. I’m on my 3rd ball and I don’t think it’ll take all 5.

cathay

All I need to do is the top part and I’m done. Wow, I really am on fire this summer, aren’t I?

4 Responses to “The Man Machine”


  1. August 23, 2008 at 5:54 pm

    You have been very prolific knitter this summer!

  2. August 23, 2008 at 6:07 pm

    Those Regia socks are bright! Looking forward to seeing your finished yarn. 🙂

  3. 3 Shannon
    August 23, 2008 at 6:48 pm

    So is machine knitting fun? It looks interesting! Man, you really are on fire with the knitting projects! If you don’t use all the Cathay, I’ll paypal you for it. I need at least 1 more skein I think for the tivoli tee, I think.

  4. August 24, 2008 at 12:31 pm

    wow. machine knitting?? do you sense me bowing down to you yet?? lol. i wouldn’t even know where to begin!


Leave a Reply

Elspeth

is a knitter, librarian and pop culture enthusiast in the San Francisco Peninsula. Email me at emmckee@rocketmail

Tweets, if I bother

August 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

