20
Aug
08

Kill Your Television

Well, it had to happen.  The summer “filler” season on TV is almost over and it’s almost time to go to the “real” programming in the Fall.  Well, I had a great summer of fun shows, found a lot more I liked, and then I read the Fall programming list.  I was very, very disappointed.  The only shows I am looking forward to are (in order): Dexter, The Shield, The Office, Life, ER, House, Numb3rs.  Pitiful.

This summer I got some great TV watching in, as well as way too many movies.  We have HBO, Showtime, and I just discovered we have Encore somehow, so I’ve been taping movies with abandon.  This summer I watched:

Breaking Bad: I’ve only finished the first episode, but I’ve got a couple waiting for me on my TiVo and I can’t wait. What an interesting idea for a show: a high school chemistry teacher learns he’s dying fast and decides to mix Crystal Meth to be able to support his son after he’s gone.

Burn Notice:  I didn’t really watch this last year, but I’m definitely hooked now.  I can’t believe Gabrielle Anwar is the same girl from “The Secret of My Success” with Michael J. Fox in the 1980s.  She looks all “Hollywood-ed” out now: buff and sickly thin.  But a great character, nonetheless.

The Closer: I’m still into Brenda and Fritz and their sometimes helping each other solve crimes.  It’s a fun show, not only because the Captain from “Police Academy” is in it.

In Plain Sight: I love this show.  The last two episodes were so interesting.  It’s a show about a female U.S. Marshall for the Witness Protection program.  I’m not a huge fan of the actor who played the FBI agent (who was also Courteney Cox’s brother on “Dirt”) but he does have a point – how can someone with such a felonous family get into the Marshall program anyway?  The sister and mom are frustrating – how can two people be so self-absorbed, why would Brandi, who is very attractive be with Chuck, who is not, anyway?  And I do not want her to end up with Mary’s boyfriend, Raph.  Next year is too far away!

Kathy Griffin: My Life on the D-List:  Good season, but I was annoyed by the recent announcement that Kathy’s assistant Jessica just quit.  I don’t find her compelling, and this show made her – so now all of a sudden she’s too good to work for Kathy?  The few episodes with Kathy’s former “boyfriend” Steve Wozniak were also interesting.

Law and Order: Criminal Intent:  Well, I’m done.  After Alicia Witt and her overacting last year, the lame partner coming back this year and Chris Noth being replaced by Jeff Goldblum?  Move along…nothing to see here.  And I’m done with Law and Order too – I don’t like Anthony Anderson as an actor and I think he was the worst replacement for Ed Green (and a really, really stupid way to write the character off as well).  I guess my disinterest with Law and Order was a long time coming, but it’s here.

My Boys:  This season was nowhere near as good as last season.  Andy having an affair with his “work wife” and while his wife was pregnant, Stephanie being more of a main character and writing a best-seller, Bobby coming to Italy with P.J. and not knowing she wanted it to be romantic, then having some hot and heavy relationship that lead to an engagement, yet we never saw the two together, THEN P.J. organizes his wedding (isn’t it usually the bride’s role?)  and finally he almost decides to be with P.J. but sees her with his brother?  Lame.

Saving Grace:  To be honest, I’ve only seen one episode of this show so far, but I enjoyed it well enough, plus “Lem” from The Shield is a main character, so I’m all for it.  Holly Hunter scares me more than Gabrielle Anwar, though – seriously, lay off the steroids and don’t pump up quite so much. It’s gross.

How did this end up being the “filler” season, when there are so many good shows, many of them better than their Fall counterparts?

And while I was watching TV I was knitting! Believe it or not I finished a pair of socks this week, and just cast on for another.  I also just recieved my Webs order and you’ll be happy to hear that even after they cancelled two of the yarns because they were out of them, I’m going to return at least 3 sets because they weren’t what I expected.  It’s hard to send them back because they’re all under $2.50 per skein, but I just don’t have any use for them.  Pictures to follow, my camera is AWOL this week.

P.S.  In case I don’t get back until Monday, up this weekend is a very exciting class! I’ll report more then!

4 Responses to “Kill Your Television”


  1. August 21, 2008 at 5:22 am

    Oh, I am excited to hear about that class! I was just talking to a friend about looking for a used knitting machine for that purpose.

  2. August 21, 2008 at 7:17 am

    I’m so glad you like your yarn! I have that knitting machine (and another) and I love it! I took the dyeing sock blanks class from Charlene Schurch a couple of years ago and it was awesome.

    I hope you have a lot of fun!

  3. August 21, 2008 at 7:11 pm

    Knit yarn to dye and then reknit?

    I love Burn Notice and Breaking Bad. In Plain Sight is good but I got into Mad Men when it came on. I’m too enamoured of Linus Roache and jeremy? on L&) to give it up, and VDO is what makes L&OCI for me.

    I’m just glad the networks realized that cutting their season down by a month left a whole lot of time to not bother watching TV. And then where we would be? I’m just bummed that Stargate Atlantis was cancelled.

  4. August 22, 2008 at 3:30 pm

    I love Burn Notice as well. What a great show.


Leave a Reply

Elspeth

is a knitter, librarian and pop culture enthusiast in the San Francisco Peninsula. Email me at emmckee@rocketmail
August 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

