11
Aug
08

I Buy the Drugs

So, how much have you spent at one time at Jo-Ann or Michael’s?  My new record is $62.  Honestly, I don’t know how it added up to that much, but I got quite a haul.  They were having a sale on Moda Dea Cartwheel which is 100% wool, and a nice grey color, so I bought the lot:

Recently I’ve started two curtain projects – I need curtains for my kitchen and bathroom (which will end up being 4 total, I think).  Whenever I get a Michael’s coupon I buy Bernat Cottontots, my favorite cotton yarn.  Here’s curtain number one, for the bathroom, so far:

So while I was at Jo-Ann I noticed they were having a big sale on Sugar and Cream, which I usually hate to knit with, but DL is addicted to camoflauge and Army- or military themes (I never thought I’d be happy he has epilepsy but it should keep him from enlisting/being drafted when he’s old enough and since I have 3 boys I think about that a lot.) and I found this Sugar and Cream I think he’ll like being made into new curtains for his room:

And just to satisfy those yarn-elitists out there, you know knitting at a LYS is a bad idea, right? Well last month Yarn, Paper, Scissors was having a sale on cotton yarn, so I picked up this really interesting looking Tahki Jeans:

and some gorgeous green Blue Sky Alpaca Dyed Cotton:

And now I feel guilty, because I had been so good stashbusting lately! I mailed my friend 14 hats total, and I have one more to decide what to do with. Here’s one of my Sideways Hat masterpieces:

And a great hat from Knit Hats! (I think?!) which again ended up being WAY too big for a baby under 1, right?:

You have to tack the picot edge over at the end, but it is pretty, and such a good use of many, many taupe, ecru, tan, whatever yarn leftovers.

P.S.  Don’t tell the Yarn Police – I also made a huge Webs order this week – shhhhh….

P.P.S.  The good news is that so far I’ve received 2 emails from Webs that some of the yarn I ordered is out of stock, so my order gets smaller every day …

3 Responses to “I Buy the Drugs”


  1. August 12, 2008 at 8:16 am

    Well, there’s “stash busting”. And then there’s “stash busting at the seams”.

    I leave it to you to decide which you’re doing, lol.

    I’ve thought about doing curtains. I’d probably start with the bathroom, it’s the only room with just one window.

  2. August 12, 2008 at 10:39 am

    My goodness! I feel faint just looking at all that yarn. That last picture of you and the hat is really cute. 🙂

  3. August 17, 2008 at 1:08 pm

    Possibly too big for a baby.

    But you had to replenish your stash! You’ve been knitting it all up!

    I think I spent $92 at Joanne’s during a fabric sale. Saved myself untold amounts of cash….I just hope I actually used all the fabric. I gave a ton of it away last year.


Leave a Reply

Elspeth

is a knitter, librarian and pop culture enthusiast in the San Francisco Peninsula. Email me at emmckee@rocketmail

Tweets, if I bother

August 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

