15
Jun
08

She’s Crafty

I have been on fire lately. A couple of weeks ago I went to Yarn Paper Scissors (my new favorite LYS)’ “Crafty Girls” night, which is once a month with different crafts. I guess I thought it was a class, but it’s really a theme, where girls get together, have Sibby’s Cupcakes
and are crafty. This month’s theme was t-shirt transformations, and I thought it would be a good reason to pull out my “Generation T” book and finally use it. (Did you realize that Michael’s has a whole “Generation T” theme set – you can get anything you need to alter your t-shirts within the “Generation T” brand?)

I was a bit worried when I showed up because I often think I’m not creative enough to make anything truly original. Luckily enough, Amy had a collection of related books and patterns, I chose one, and she helped me with the sewing (YPS is one of those amazing hybrid stores with yarn, sewing, scrapbooking (yuck), and card making supplies and classes). You’re going to love what I came up with, I do!

This was formerly a concert t-shirt from Ween’s New Year’s concert in 1999. We had two of them, so I wasn’t too worried about ruining one. I was so happy to be at a store, because I could buy the purse handles right there, and they had buttons aplenty. Here is the back:

I loved doing this so much I ran over to Jo-Ann and bought more buttons and ribbon so I could alter more of my t-shirts! Now I just need to get the sewing lessons I have been promised as a belated Mother’s Day present.

3 Responses to “She’s Crafty”


  1. June 16, 2008 at 5:33 am

    That is really cool!


Leave a Reply

Elspeth

is a knitter, librarian and pop culture enthusiast in the San Francisco Peninsula. Email me at emmckee@rocketmail

Tweets, if I bother

June 2008
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

