29
May
08

Coming up for air

I am really happy that I’ve had nonstop work for 2-3 weeks (I work at home and am only loosely guided by deadlines, so I don’t ever really get time off, if there’s work, I should be doing it, even now at 9:45 pm.) but boy am I busy! I have spent some time making A.’s first sock (and I see him tomorrow night, so I’m thinking I won’t even be able to finish one by then. Oops! I am getting back into sock knitting slowly but surely, I guess, it must be like riding a bicycle because I have been somewhat able to alter the Manly Socks pattern. (I like that she’s from gorgeous Western Maryland, and I’m certain Chris will like her blog header! Am I right or am I right, or am I right – a movie quote since I can’t get a quote in edgewise in the movie quote game on Ravelry 😦 )

First of all, I wasn’t able to find the yarn I had bought especially for A’s socks, so I am using some Lana Grossa Mellenweit Multiringel that I bought at Stitches West years ago, then I had to use size 2 needles because I don’t have 1 1/2s, so I had to significantly alter the pattern to get the 6 stitch repeat and the right amount of stitches.

So I hope to get some in progress (at least) shots while I’m back in Portland this weekend! And what timing, it turns out that Craft Magazine is having something fun in Portland on Sunday while I’ll be there! I’ll report back on Monday!

4 Responses to “Coming up for air”


  1. May 30, 2008 at 12:42 pm

    Hopefully this Craft thing will be more fun for you than the Maker’s Faire!

    I think it’s Sock Season. I’m almost done with a pair of Jaywalkers.

  2. May 31, 2008 at 12:27 am

    ooooh that blue and green is PURTY

  3. May 31, 2008 at 6:26 pm

    Have a good trip!

    The quote is from Groundhog Day, what a great movie!

  4. June 1, 2008 at 6:44 am

    You are right! LOVE that blog header!

    Yay for socks!!! 🙂 Sounds like it’s time to order a few of the wee sizes of KnitPicks needles. I love Meilenweit…


Leave a Reply

Elspeth

is a knitter, librarian and pop culture enthusiast in the San Francisco Peninsula. Email me at emmckee@rocketmail

Tweets, if I bother

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

May 2008
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

