15
May
08

I am Iron Man

So last week I was all set to go see Speed Racer when it came out, but I was busy on Friday.  On Sunday I was going to go with my son, but was told that it is like “2 hours watching a strobe light” and since he has epilepsy, we had to skip it.  After that disappoitnment, it really turned me off to the movie as a whole, so I decided to see Iron Man instead.

Today, to get out of the 96 degree heat (and no one here except my Prius-owning friend has air conditioning – way to help the environment ;9 ) I decided to stop by our local theater and see Iron Man.

I had no knowledge of the character, but I was definitely dubious in Robert Downey Jr. being a superhero (is it at all Freudian that I almost typed Anthony Michael Hall? Another guy you wouldn’t have considered a superhero until he bulked up for Edward Scissorhands).  Well, he’s come a long way since “Back to School” and “Weird Science”, and was actually good in this movie!  Another good casting was Jeff Bridges. I hate his roles/acting, so having him as the villain worked quite well for me. I definitely could have done without Gwyneth Paltrow in the love interest/sidekick role, but for the most part I really enjoyed this movie.

I only have one more complaint: this is a very dark colored movie.  How is a knitter supposed to get anything done when you can’t see your knitting at all? 😉

One other thing I enjoyed was the soundtrack.  I liked the classic rock feel, and lack of rap and/or indie music. It was a very nice trip down memory lane.  Also, the best part was the end, RDJ saying “I am Iron Man” and seguing directly into the Black Sabbath song.  Genius!  Give that Sound Designer an award!

5 Responses to “I am Iron Man”


  1. May 16, 2008 at 7:41 am

    Mmm…. Robert Downey Jr…

  2. May 16, 2008 at 7:41 am

    Oh yeah, nice Black Sabbath reference. That’s the first thing I thought when I heard the film name.

  3. May 17, 2008 at 1:57 pm

    We’re going to see it tomorrow. I ate something at the caf yesterday that killed my stomach, but I’m feeling better now. Iron Man sounds like it’s worth seeing.

  4. May 18, 2008 at 11:37 am

    I really want to see it, but will probably wait until it comes out on DVD. I’m glad to hear that you liked it!

  5. May 19, 2008 at 10:19 am

    Robert Downey Jr is generally pretty good in his movies. I did hear Iron Man was fabulous and Speed Racer long and dull.

    Those dark movies. What do they think you’re doing. chowing down popcorn?

    It was 104 at my house! Thankfully we have a/c.


Leave a Reply

Elspeth

is a knitter, librarian and pop culture enthusiast in the San Francisco Peninsula. Email me at emmckee@rocketmail

Tweets, if I bother

  • @murrayv @jimmy_dore @mentalpod Great episode! 3 of my favorite comedians/podcasters on the same stage! 1 week ago
  • RT @GeorgeTakei: The lack of any outrage over the use of private emails by Trump's closest advisors shows that it never never was about her… 1 week ago
  • RT @TheGoodGodAbove: A week has passed since the Las Vegas massacre of 58 people. The USA has done nothing and is no longer talking about… 1 week ago
  • They did it *again*! @bigbangtheory's "scientists" said that "we" (Bernadette and Howard) are pregnant? That is not physically possible!!!! 3 weeks ago
  • @TheGoodGodAbove God, why did you make people that refuse to remember even a few years ago? Or can't open a history book? Or the internet? 1 month ago
May 2008
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

