26
Apr
08

Harold and Kumar Escape from Guantanamo Bay

Sure, I’ve been busy with work and bringing kids to the doctor this week, but when I heard the new Harold and Kumar movie was coming out on Friday, I had to see it!

On Friday I was driving when I heard a film critic give it 1 1/2 stars. I was disappointed, but I often like stupid movies (except “Nacho Libre”, that one was horrible) so I decided to go anyway.

I really enjoyed the first Harold and Kumar movie. A friend of mine said she wouldn’t like it because she doesn’t do drugs, but I don’t do drugs and I enjoyed both of them. Of course I found the endless references to marijuana a bit tiresome, but I did laugh many times in this movie.

An interesting part of this movie as well was how it dealt with racism and politics. There were a number of outwardly racist events, and either they had the person go against the joke (e.g. the tall African-American man in the South wasn’t in a gang, he was an orthodontist) or they had the person at first go against the joke and then go with the joke (e.g. the two Jewish men who weren’t interested in money at first, but when the government agent, who was the racist in the movie, put money on the table to entice them to talk, they did take the money eventually.)

If you’re looking for a movie where you have to suspend a lot of disbelief, but want to laugh, and/or just liked Harold and Kumar, it’s worth seeing. I enjoyed it.

And I got some knitting done as well, so it was profitable time spent!

As most people hate to have pictureless posts, I’ll leave you with a photo my mom’s friend took in Southern Maryland yesterday (mind you this was in a new housing development in a rural area…)

5 Responses to “Harold and Kumar Escape from Guantanamo Bay”


  1. April 26, 2008 at 4:13 pm

    I want to see this too. I’m hope it’s not too one-line joke though.

  2. April 27, 2008 at 2:09 am

    I’ll put it on my Netflix I think. I like to watch movies that go against the norm. and the critics don’t always know what a funny movie is either. Have a great Sunday.
    Jerry

  3. April 27, 2008 at 4:58 am

    Yup, sounds like a good Netflix movie. I like a lot of not-so-intellectual movies (hey, after doing taxonomy all week, it’s exactly what I need), but I just don’t see myself spending $9 to see them. Sheesh, movie tickets have gotten expensive!

  4. April 27, 2008 at 7:03 am

    Funny sign! I’m so out of the movie loop…

  5. April 29, 2008 at 10:34 am

    The sign is great! I’m usually totally at odds with the movie critics.


Leave a Reply

Elspeth

is a knitter, librarian and pop culture enthusiast in the San Francisco Peninsula. Email me at emmckee@rocketmail

Tweets, if I bother

April 2008
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

