19
Apr
08

Forgetting Sarah Marshall

Shhh… I went to the movies again. Yes, two days in a row. But Thursday night I realized that Forgetting Sarah Marshall was opening on Friday, and I didn’t have any official plans, so how could I say no?

I didn’t have as many opinions about this movie as I did about “Speed Kings” but mostly because it was entertaining and funny, and I was too distracted by the fact that I showed up the second it was supposed to be shown and they weren’t even at the previews yet! They finally came in about 5-10 min after I sat down and said they were fixing some machine and would be starting it soon. Then we saw maybe 2 trailers before the projector broke again, and we saw maybe 3 previews with only half the screen working (the bottom half) and even the first couple of minutes of the movie! We didn’t get a free pass for another movie or anything (which I think we should have gotten) but they did fix it relatively quickly.

I didn’t realize this in the beginning, but Forgetting Sarah Marshall was written by Jason Segel, the star. I loved him in “Freaks and Geeks”, but never did get into “How I Met Your Mother” so I’ve had to only see him when he’s featured in Judd Apatow films.

Number one warning about this movie – you will come out of it wanting to never see Jason Segel naked again. There are so many nude scenes where you see *everything* that it’s a bit much. There is even the infamous breakup scene where he supposedly shakes his private parts (we don’t see them at that point, but never fear, you don’t miss them later) and there is a sound effect added for them! As someone with a Masters in sound analysis, that’s pretty much even for me.

Mila Kunis was really cute in this movie, and Jason Segel was great. The other actors he chose were good as well. I laughed a lot. However, it was not your traditional Hollywood movie. Jason’s character “finds himself” in Hawaii and we’re subjected to his “rock opera” that he had been trying to make while dating the famous actress Sarah Marshall. The main characters also were pretty strange – Mila Kunis does a lot of things that are either bad acting or bad writing, like not kissing Jason Segel when he tries to kiss her, then sort of looking upset about it after the fact. Is she upset? We’re not really sure.

Anyway, it’s worth watching, just not the most well written film you’ve ever seen.

And you know there was knitting! I brought a different WIP this time: Laura Chau’s Cavern Cardigan, in double stranded Elsebeth Lavold Silky Wool.

3 Responses to “Forgetting Sarah Marshall”


  1. April 20, 2008 at 6:48 am

    *blink blink* How do they come up with such crazy ideas?! Yowza.

  2. April 20, 2008 at 3:15 pm

    I just listened to the guys over at the Flimspotting podcast do a review of this movie. Between the two reviews, I’m intrigued.

  3. April 25, 2008 at 3:59 pm

    Speed Kings, yes, Forgetting Sarah Marshall? I probably won’t even watch it on TV. I agree with you on Keanu Reeve’s bad rap. I have no idea why the critics are so harsh with him.

    You didn’t like the House/Tritter conflict? That was about the only one I could stand. I really, really REALLY hated the mogul vs House arc. I enjoyed Tritter and House. While I can see where Tritter’s actions could be considered vindictive, really House got off easily.


Leave a Reply

Elspeth

is a knitter, librarian and pop culture enthusiast in the San Francisco Peninsula. Email me at emmckee@rocketmail

Tweets, if I bother

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

April 2008
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

