17
Apr
08

Speed Kings

I went to see the movie “Speed Kings” today, with Keanu Reeves, Forrest Whittaker, Hugh Laurie, etc. I really liked it. The first interesting thing I noticed is when I usually watch movies alone during a weekday I am surrounded by older couples, or just all older women. One or two housewives, too. Today, all older men. Senior citizens, I mean. Interesting demographic.

Anyway, here are my “official” thoughts on the movie itself:

1) Keanu Reeves gets a bad rap. I get really riled up when I read about what a “horrible actor” he is. Frankly, there are only a few actors/actresses that I think are really, really good. And I will say that when I watch movies and TV, often I can’t get past the idea that these “action heroes” just a few years earlier were dancing and singing around on their high school stages. They’re just actors, people. Do you know anyone that named their baby after Ben Affleck’s character on “Armageddon”? I do. This guy is just an actor, someone you probably dismissed in high school for whatever reason, and now you act like he actually is doing all the things his character is doing?

Give Keanu a break. Sure, he’s no [insert amazing actor here, I can’t think of one, and do not give me Oscar winners – the Oscars are a popularity contest] but he is believeable in an acting role, and that’s all that matters to me. Like I think Kenneth Branagh was any better in “Much Ado About Nothing”. Not a chance.

2) John Corbett sucks. I thought “Northern Exposure” was fine, but never got a hard on (excuse my French) for this guy. Then they put him on “Sex and the City” for a year or so and all of a sudden no one can adore Aidan Quinn because every woman is naming their kid Aidan instead of you, because of his lame character. (BTW, I did like “Sex and the City”. My favorite episode was near the end when Miranda and Steve said they were each other’s the “one”. Cute! And don’t get me started on Chris Noth – now I can suspend my drama school disbelief on this guy.)

3) For a bit during the movie I was really worried, because I stopped watching “House” when he was harassed by a vindictive cop. It seemed like in this movie, Hugh Laurie was playing the part of “Tritter”, but it ended up differently.

4) After “The Shield” and “ER”, I was really sick of Forrest Whittaker’s in your face characters. He didn’t bother me quite so much in this movie.

5) “Disco” – Chris Evans played “Harvard Hottie” in “The Nanny Diaries”, and was even cuter in this movie! Of course pairing him with Keanu didn’t hurt.

6) A lot of violence, natch. I enjoyed it, but I kind of felt like the older guys with me might be thinking that they were ready to be done with this world, since everything is just so uber-violent. No sex, of course, just violence.

Of course there was knitting! Why else would I go to the movies in the middle of the day? I have been on a tear about having so many WIPs, mostly sweaters, that I brought one out of hibernation. I’m also trying to get rid of the yarn I like the least, first, so this sweater is made of whatever Knit Picks Palette I can find, so I can get rid of it. I’m doing a raglan, and recently got past the sleeve part. So far so good.

3 Responses to “Speed Kings”


  1. 1 Pissed the hell off
    April 17, 2008 at 11:56 pm

    I hear ya. Keanu is a punching bag and sometimes I don’t understand how he keeps going. Everywhere you turn, he gets dumped on, over and over, same old same old, emotionless, plank of wood, monotone voice, for 20 years.
    I also agree with you about Oscars and acting awards in general, as well as the quality of most Hollywood actors.

    The thing is, when you’re a Keanu fan and do all the things a fan would do, like being on pro Keanu places and then being in the rest of the world, it feels like two completely different universes. It’s strange and disconcerting, and goes beyond just an actor. Are people really that stupid that even in this day and age, there is such a strong herd mentality where everyone thinks it’s okay to say the same shit (in this case “wooden emotionless monotonous” blah blah blah) and think they are discovering America?
    I just don’t get it and I have to admit I get Keanu even less, because if I were him, once I had enough money I would just hide.

  2. April 18, 2008 at 11:16 am

    I like Keanu. Especially in the first Matrix movie. Nom nom nom.

  3. April 18, 2008 at 7:28 pm

    I’m a huge Keanu fan, mostly because when I was a teen and he was getting big as an actor, he was one of the few biracial faces in film and media. I actually think he’s gotten better as an actor, but no one ever gives him credit for it.


Leave a Reply

Elspeth

is a knitter, librarian and pop culture enthusiast in the San Francisco Peninsula. Email me at emmckee@rocketmail

Tweets, if I bother

April 2008
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

