02
Apr
08

Remember this?

It has finally been turned into this:

Yes, I still need to detangle my sock yarn, but I really wanted to get it all separated and especially the WIPs so I could hopefully finish them. I still have left my Deco Ribbon bag (purple, and I was stuck because the yarn was tangled – no more!), and a small scarf I’m making out of a skein of Noro Silk Garden. In the past week I have been slowly trying to use this pile up and have at least these to show for it:

They are two small decorative scarves. The bottom one is done entirely in Filatura di Crosa Seta – a nice glittery yarn. The top one is made with scraps of black yarn I was trying to use up. I think I’m going to keep that one, as I really like the mix of different types of yarn and even gauges. I decided making small scarves will be my Mother’s Day gift for the year, so I need to make approximately 11 more before Mother’s Day.

As I said before, I also finished my Clapotis. IM found a great use for it as well:

He thinks it’s a train track. I made it out of Tahki New Tweed and for my new Japanese class friend (who coincidentally is the cousin of one of DM’s classmates and is only here from Taiwan for 1 year – who would have guessed I would have randomly met her in my class!). I hope she likes it and it is long enough.

Speaking of Tahki, when I was at my knitting group last night, I “had” to buy more yarn:

It’s Tahki Santa Fe, a nice boucle-type yarn with some great colors. I think I’ll make a scarf or something out of it.

5 Responses to “Remember this?”


  1. April 3, 2008 at 5:50 am

    11 scarves by Mother’s Day?! You are always setting such ambitious goals! Good luck!

  2. 2 Shannon
    April 3, 2008 at 6:27 am

    Oh, congrats on the organization AND the very cool Clapotis. I love wearing mine, you should make one for yourself too!

  3. April 3, 2008 at 10:41 am

    Wow, impressive detangling!

    You knit a lovely train track there!

  4. April 4, 2008 at 5:52 pm

    The Clapotis does look like a train track! It’s a multi-purpose garment.

  5. April 5, 2008 at 5:23 am

    Train to Clapotis, all aboard!

    Huh, Train to Clapotis… Now this could be either a bad action flick, a French romantic drama that involves people falling madly in love on a train and never seeing each other again, or a murder mystery where somebody gets killed on the train and nobody knows whodunit. Fabulous inspiration, your kid!


Leave a Reply

Elspeth

is a knitter, librarian and pop culture enthusiast in the San Francisco Peninsula. Email me at emmckee@rocketmail

Tweets, if I bother

April 2008
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

