29
Feb
08

More movies.

Well, since TV has fallen flat lately even though the writers’ strike is over (and I heard a rumor that even though they still had 13 episodes to air, even though “Cavemen” left with that many unaired episodes, they’re not cancelled, but have been renewed. I haven’t gotten any confirmation on that, but it is exciting to hear!), I’ve been watching more movies again. We did get Showtime when we switched from DirecTV to cable (because of the discounted attached Internet), but of course now “Dexter” and “Weeds” aren’t on! But at least we have caught up on their movies.

Recently I saw “Clerks 2” (good), “Nacho Libre” (bad), “The Nanny Diaries” (better than the book), and “Night at the Museum” (better than I expected). And of course I got a lot of knitting time in.

Besides my two Clapotis (only one being active since I still haven’t found the last ball of Tahki New Tweed), I also have been working on my Classic Elite Venue raglan. That is a lot of yarn to use up, and a raglan is easy movie knitting.

This sweater has also accompanied me to the movies twice this week.  First I went to see “Be Kind, Rewind” which I really liked.  It wasn’t a traditional Jack Black comedy, but I like Mos Def as an actor, and it was funny in parts.  Then today I went to see “The Other Boleyn Girl”.  It was well done, but not too happy an ending, as you might have guessed. And I just don’t get the obsession with Scarlett Johansson.  I guess that’s because I’m female, but I just don’t get it.  Then again, Brad Pitt doesn’t do much for me either.

I’ve still got at least 700 yards of Venue, and one or two movies on my list to see next week, so I hope to get back into Finished Objects land soon!

5 Responses to “More movies.”


  1. March 1, 2008 at 3:32 pm

    Mmmm… black sweater…

  2. March 1, 2008 at 8:00 pm

    Oooh, pretty knit in black yarn! I like it!

    Brad Pitt, on the other hand, I don’t get either. I also don’t get Angelina Jolie, for that matter. In profile, she looks like a guy, and she has these huge freaking lips…

    It’s all a matter of taste, I suppose.

  3. March 2, 2008 at 2:24 pm

    The historical accuracy of The Other Boleyn Girl was pretty awful but it was an entertaining movie as long as you mostly looked at the costumes.

    Angelina Jolie is absolutely goreous! OTOH, I’ve never gotten the Brad Pitt thing much either.

  4. March 2, 2008 at 4:10 pm

    I don’t get the whole Scarlett Johanson thing either. Frankly, I don’t think she’s the greatest actress.

  5. March 3, 2008 at 7:07 am

    I still don’t have Showtime so I’ve been watching Dexter on network tv and loving it. Of course I’m sure that it’d be better on cable but edited Dexter is better than no Dexter. Have you seen Breaking Bad? I like that one too. It’s dark and funny.
    I saw a movie this weekend too. Penelope was very cute and both my 8 year old and i enjoyed it.


Leave a Reply

Elspeth

is a knitter, librarian and pop culture enthusiast in the San Francisco Peninsula. Email me at emmckee@rocketmail

Tweets, if I bother

February 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
2526272829  

