25
Feb
08

She said she was jaded.

(That is almost all of the song by King Missile that I can quote here 🙂

So I went to Stitches West on Saturday. I was so excited to go and see all the pretty yarn, and hopefully run into a few locals/Ravelry friends. Well, the first person I ran into was my former coworker (and a few others from the company) from the Job from Hell (TM) which was very nice, and actually I expect to see her at Stitches these days since she lives all the way across the Bay from us (shudder – so far 😉 . She had already bought lots of yarn and was going to rest her feet before doing more shopping, so I was even more excited. Want to see what I bought at Stitches?

Yes, that’s right, nothing. I walked around, got a glimpse of Jess from Ravelry and Vicki Howell, and bought nothing. Honestly, Stitches seems more like a place to get all your LYS in the same place, and we have so many LYS that I didn’t really need to drive past them all to get them all in one place. I even visited the Blue Moon Fiber Arts booth (and we know how much I hate Socks that Rock) but all they had was Socks that Rock. Some of the colors they’ve developed since I bought mine that fateful day in Portland (before they were so popular that the LYS there couldn’t stock them anymore) I actually like, but I hate STR and would have bought some in worsted or something else, but alas I couldn’t give my money away at Stitches.

Lest you think my stash is faltering, fear not. Last week was my yearly pilgrimage to Oakland and I stopped by Article Pract. $100 later I bought this gorgeous yarn:

Tulle by Prism. It was “on sale” which I didn’t know meant 15% off $17 a skein, but it is so gorgeous I couldn’t resist! I also bought my first Claudia’s Handpainted Yarn:

Buckeye, just the color for me! If I had known, maybe I should have gone to Ohio State too just for their colors! (A couple of friends of mine from Maryland went there because they had great grad school packages.)

I also recently recieved this gorgeous yarn from a Swap-Bot swap:

I really made out on this one – it came with chocolate too!

5 Responses to “She said she was jaded.”


  1. February 25, 2008 at 5:36 pm

    Gosh, you may be the only one who didn’t buy anything at Stitches! Your other purchases (and swap booty) are VERY you. 🙂

  2. 2 Lu
    February 26, 2008 at 8:30 am

    I almost buy nothing at Stitches too – then I got some Karabella Aurora 8 (just because around here is either online or overpriced) and STR heavyweight because my dad loves the socks I make for him.

  3. February 26, 2008 at 9:15 am

    You showed some amazing restraint. I love that you quoted King Missile. I was just thinking the other day that I hadn’t heard them lately. Such great songs!

  4. February 27, 2008 at 1:09 pm

    Now I don’t feel as bad for not going. It’s too far this time of year and my stash is enhanced enough.

    And uh no,you are not the LAST one to do a Clapotis. I still have to knit mine.

  5. July 4, 2013 at 12:35 am

    A wine rack cannot be complete without wine accessories.
    You could put pretty much anything you wanted on the winery where the
    wine goblets make sure you will learn something new. There
    are wines that auger well with food as well as absolutely special!

    A wine carrier defeats both of these issues with one fell swoop.


Leave a Reply

Elspeth

is a knitter, librarian and pop culture enthusiast in the San Francisco Peninsula. Email me at emmckee@rocketmail

Tweets, if I bother

February 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
2526272829  

