08
Feb
08

A Rhetorical Question

Say you had over 500 skeins of yarn, and at least 10 works in progress. Anything else you do besides knitting keeps you from finishing said projects and using up said yarn. What would you do with this:

Yes, you see at least 4 WIPs stuck in this mass of tangled yarn.  So, would you spend time unraveling all the yarn, or would you (gasp!) throw it away?  You’d think if you really liked yarn and collecting it that you wouldn’t let your projects get this way, but I guess I don’t.  I think it’s all about the chase for me, and once I have the yarn or have started the project, I don’t have as much interest in it. How about you? Would you untangle this yarn? Throw it away? Do you let your yarn get into this position in the first place?

8 Responses to “A Rhetorical Question”


  1. February 8, 2008 at 3:52 pm

    I would carefully place it in a bag and include it in the bottom of the Goodwill donation pile.

  2. February 8, 2008 at 5:00 pm

    I’d probably untangle it. Most likely, I’d bring it to my knitting group on Thursday night – I’ve got a friend there who really enjoys untangling things. We could make it a group effort!

    Luckily, I seldom have any issues about things getting in a mess, though. Of course, it’s just me, Gryphon, and the rats, and we’re all pretty good about it. 🙂

  3. February 9, 2008 at 12:45 pm

    I would sit in front of the TV and watch one of those movies you haven’t seen yet and slowly untangle. I’m one of the people who untangles Christmas lights.

  4. February 10, 2008 at 5:00 pm

    I’d give the yarn away. Someone will score a great find, and won’t mind untangling it.

  5. February 12, 2008 at 6:39 pm

    I’d probably untangle it before I gave it away too. I like to untangle.

  6. 6 bellamoden
    February 12, 2008 at 10:22 pm

    That hasn’t happened to me (yet) but I am a thrower awayer. I hate untangling!

  7. 7 Kay
    February 15, 2008 at 7:56 am

    If it’s not yarn I was attached to, I’d probably throw it out. Life is too short to waste on untangling yarn I’m not in love with. =D

  8. February 16, 2008 at 3:39 pm

    Send it to me?

    Oh, wait, I’m on a yarn diet. But it’s such beautiful yarn! Black and red and purple, I’m sure someone would be more than happy to untangle it.


Leave a Reply

Elspeth

is a knitter, librarian and pop culture enthusiast in the San Francisco Peninsula. Email me at emmckee@rocketmail

Tweets, if I bother

February 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
2526272829  

