31
Jan
08

Another one bites the dust

I *finally* finished my mittens I started “last year” for my friend. I made one, then I got motivated to do other things, and I finally finished a second. Of course it has the same problem many of my mittens have, that it’s too small:

but at least it’s done and a pair. I think I’ll finish a second Telaio mitten to give to her, though.

In the spirit of stashbusting, I have been looking through my stash for oddballs and needles I need, and I found a WIP from who knows when. Last year sometime I was starting socks here and there, then I got totally off of the sock bandwagon and put them all aside. (I have 4 socks OTN that I can remember, and two that I finished one sock but never cast on for the second.) So I pull out this Knit Picks Palette sock, work on it for awhile, try to make it into a fingerless glove, and decide it is just not the right size for my wrist. I (gasp) frogged it. Then I pulled out all the Palette I have including another WIP I started who knows when and got stalled on. I’m now making a top down raglan and we’ll see how it goes.

I also had one of those funny experiences the other day that you can’t share with anyone but another knitter. I saw someone wearing an Odessa hat! It’s so funny when you can identify a pattern that someone has made and you’re not at Stitches or something like that.

Now if I could identify the yarn, I would be very very proud of myself!

5 Responses to “Another one bites the dust”


  1. February 1, 2008 at 8:56 am

    Wow, you have a lot OTN!! Good eye with the Odessa hat – I would’ve seen it and thought it looked like a familiar pattern, but not been able to place it…

  2. February 1, 2008 at 9:36 am

    I can’t wait to see how your sweater turns out. I’m making a top-down raglan right now too, for the first time, and it just seems to be taking forever! Not used to big projects like that.

  3. 3 Kay
    February 1, 2008 at 9:55 am

    … I think I know what the yarn is. RYC Cashsoft DK is called for in the pattern, and I have a ball of it sitting here beside me in a colour that’s far too close to the colour of that young lady’s hat to be a coincidence.

    LOL.

    That’s so awesome, though, to recognise a knit out in public.

  4. February 1, 2008 at 11:13 am

    That is very awesoem to recognize a knit hat! I keep seeing the SNB newsboy cap. Did you talk to her?

    Bummer about the not quite matching mittens – it’s the story of my life.

    Stashbusting and frogging! Oh my. Good for you.

  5. February 1, 2008 at 7:26 pm

    Ooo, an Odessa in the wild! Too cool. I’m sorry your mittens are too small. Could you block them out?


Leave a Reply

Elspeth

is a knitter, librarian and pop culture enthusiast in the San Francisco Peninsula. Email me at emmckee@rocketmail

Tweets, if I bother

January 2008
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

