16
Jan
08

So cold!

I know that once you move (back) to California you lose all your cold tolerance, but this ridiculous! It was 40 degrees this morning and I wanted to walk outside but I was too cold!

Most every afternoon I go to the park and have been knitting recently. Yesterday, however, I forgot my jacket and was freezing. I decided to use up some of the yarn I happened to have in my car. I tried to knit a neckwarmer, but in my haste I knit it way too large:

I did have a line on a job at the local racetrack, but this is ridiculous! I am able to double it up at least:

Unfortunately I didn’t finish it in time to warm myself at the park. There’s always today. Then last night while watching another thrilling episode of October Road (there have been better, but it was pretty good – I really hate the way they talk in that show – it’s very “writerly”) I finished one of the formerly fingerless gloves I started in Portland. I’ve really mastered Kitchenering on the fly (including yesterday in the chair at the eye doctor), so I didn’t really realize that I wasn’t at a Kitchenering stage – I forgot to decrease! The now mitten looks great like this:

I do enjoy that Lana Grossa Telaio more than I thought. It’s a railroad yarn that turns out to be rather solid with shiny bits. Anyway, if you look more closely at the thumb:

I really did try to take the Kitchener out and redo it, but I couldn’t because of the yarn. It does fit, though.

4 Responses to “So cold!”


  1. January 16, 2008 at 3:35 pm

    Oh, 40 would be wonderful!! It’s supposed to be very, very cold here this weekend – subzero.

  2. January 18, 2008 at 12:32 pm

    That yarn for the mitten is really pretty. It looks good! And fitting is what it’s really supposed to do anyway.

    Good save on the neckwarmer! Shocking to see a red one. 😉

  3. January 20, 2008 at 6:03 am

    I like your neckwarmer! Doubled up like that, it looks particularly warm. I always wrap my scarves around at least twice. The mitten looks good too!

    I know what you mean about loss of cold tolerance. When I lived in upstate NY, I remember sweating and throwing off my jackets and winter clothes as soon as it hit 50 degrees outside. I was running around in a t-shirt! Now… not so much.

  4. January 21, 2008 at 8:59 am

    We don’t like the cold either. Anything below 70 burrrrrrr. The neck warmer looks soft, what yarn was it? October Road reminds us of Gilmore Girls and now “Kirk” is on the show.


Leave a Reply

Elspeth

is a knitter, librarian and pop culture enthusiast in the San Francisco Peninsula. Email me at emmckee@rocketmail

Tweets, if I bother

January 2008
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

