09
Jan
08

The $43 stitch holder

I’ve been into making mittens this year (I still haven’t finished the 3 pairs I want to make for my friends, scarily enough), but my startitis combined with that pattern calls for quite a few stitch holders. I have 4 or so, and they’re currently in use.

Today I decided I was going to take a walk, and bring my knitting with me. This year I’ve finished one pair of fingerless gloves and two pairs of mittens, so last night I started another pair. Unfortunately, I didn’t bring my stitch holder with me, and I was about 20 min. away from my car. Of course I couldn’t not knit the rest of the way!

I decided to stop into Vanessa’s because it was near and open. I’ve looked at their yarn before, and been underwhelmed. It strikes me as a store that started as a needlepoint store and brought knitting in when it became popular, but I’ve been told it’s been a knitting related store for years. Also, you remember that I shopped at 2 yarn stores in Maryland and didn’t buy anything recently. I also stopped at another LYS before Christmas and didn’t find anything to buy.

I did find a cute stitch holder (the typical one, but smaller than I’ve seen before) and decided to do a little shopping since I was there. First I found this gorgeous Cascade Jewel, in a red/pink color. I only bought one because I didn’t want to spend too much, but then I found the Lana Grossa Mega Fiamma. It’s actually purple, fuschia and black. And of course they’re having a sale, with many boxes of (novelty) yarn at 99 cents a skein! I bought 5 of the blue yarn just because it was cheap and I have 3 boys. In the middle of the picture is the fingerless glove I’m making out of Recycled Silk. I hope I have enough as I only have one skein.

(Stash accounted for: 165 skeins)

4 Responses to “The $43 stitch holder”


  1. January 9, 2008 at 1:17 pm

    LOL! You should bronze that stitch holder for leading you so astray. 🙂

  2. 2 Kay
    January 9, 2008 at 2:04 pm

    That redpink is beautiful.

    Also, ROFL. You shop like me.

  3. January 9, 2008 at 4:20 pm

    Well, a sale. C’mon.

    The new Piecework issue reprinted their article on Poetry Mittens and has some other mitten stuff in it too.

  4. January 9, 2008 at 6:25 pm

    I think this is a common experience with all who enter a LYS. You go in wanting a set of needles, and end up buying yarn. Beautiful choices!


Leave a Reply

Elspeth

is a knitter, librarian and pop culture enthusiast in the San Francisco Peninsula. Email me at emmckee@rocketmail

Tweets, if I bother

  • @murrayv @jimmy_dore @mentalpod Great episode! 3 of my favorite comedians/podcasters on the same stage! 1 week ago
  • RT @GeorgeTakei: The lack of any outrage over the use of private emails by Trump's closest advisors shows that it never never was about her… 1 week ago
  • RT @TheGoodGodAbove: A week has passed since the Las Vegas massacre of 58 people. The USA has done nothing and is no longer talking about… 1 week ago
  • They did it *again*! @bigbangtheory's "scientists" said that "we" (Bernadette and Howard) are pregnant? That is not physically possible!!!! 3 weeks ago
  • @TheGoodGodAbove God, why did you make people that refuse to remember even a few years ago? Or can't open a history book? Or the internet? 1 month ago
January 2008
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

